Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

June 24, 2018
"Since reaching the finals I have signed with a literary agent and been contacted by a film producer. Most importantly through the process of participating in the Prize, I got very valuable feedback on my work and broadened my author network considerably." T.J. Slee


The BookLife Prize in Fiction is an annual writing contest sponsored by BookLife and Publishers Weekly. The Prize seeks to support independent authors and discover great works in six categories: Romance/Erotica; Mystery/Thriller; Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror; General Fiction; Memoir/Autobiography; YA/Middle Grade. The Prize is judged by PW reviewers, editors, acclaimed authors, and publishing veterans, and awards are given to finalists in each category, with a grand prize going to the most outstanding finalist.


The grand prize winner of the BookLife Prize will receive $5,000 as well as an author profile in Publishers Weekly.  

All finalists will receive a blurb from a bestselling/award-winning author or professional editor serving as a guest judge for the contest, as well as mention in Publishers Weekly.

All entrants will receive a Critic’s Report, which includes a score as well as a brief written critical assessment of their book by a Publishers Weekly reviewer.  (Click here to see an example Critic's Report.)

How To Enter

The entry period for the BookLife Prize is now ended. 

Australians Have Won The Last Two Grand Prizes

There's something about Australian talent that does well in the BookLife Prize!  Here's a profile of 2017 grand prize winner Ian Andrew.  And here's a profile of 2016 winner T.J. Slee.

Complete Information

Click here for complete infomation about the BookLife Prize.