Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

General Fiction (including literary and historical)

  • Valiant Valerie

    by Elizabeth Stevens

    Valiant Valerie,
    A student of sword,
    Would not be a lady's maid,
    She would get much too bored.


    Valerie doesn’t want to be a lady’s maid, she doesn’t want to be a Lady, and she doesn’t want to be a princess. She just wants to be the first successful woman in Mor’s army. And, a country coming back from war and sorrow should be pleased with any decent solider they can get. Right?

    Wrong. The High Council won&r... more

  • Adventure in Pico Bonito

    by M.G. Alonzo Cortes
    Join siblings Olguita and Oscarito as they trek through the Honduran rainforest. Along the way, you’ll meet splendid creatures and experience an adventure you’ll want to relive time and time again.
  • The Nodders What You Don't Want to Nap?

    by Tina C. Huggins
    This whimsical story introduces the Nodders, magical creatures who leave special treats for children (age 3-7) who take a nap. With magic shoes whirling and tiny wings flapping a Nodder will peak in to see if your napping. Then out of their pocket comes a small treat or treasure is put into your NapPouch, for your waking pleasure. This rhyming naptime book encourages children to look forward to taking a nap, knowing they they will wake up to a treat in their own NapPouch A sweet story for little... more
  • Chateau Laux

    by David Loux

    Chateau Laux is a novel based on a shocking event in the lives of a first-generation family in the American colonies.  Lawrence Kraymer is a young entrepreneur from Philadelphia who takes a hunting trip up along the Delaware, and in the process, stumbles on Pierre Laux, a French aristocrat and his family living on the edge of what was then a vast wilderness.  Intoxicated with this exotic family, Lawrence pursues an engagement with one of Pierre’s daughters, and builds... more

  • Bax and His Bubbles: All About a Kid and His Thoughts

    by Dr. Sonia E. Amin

    Thoughts can be difficult to navigate at any age. Offering loving guidance to children as they sort through their thoughts empowers them to choose well in what they say and do. Bax and His Bubbles introduces children to a simple method for choosing which thought bubbles to keep and which to release.

  • Q.W.E.R.T.Y.

    by Barbara Avon

    In the tradition of "Twilight Zone", Q.W.E.R.T.Y. takes you into another dimension. A place where all things are possible. Luke is an author and a widower. His aunt gifts him a Remington typewriter and he soon discovers that everything he types, comes true. "What if I can bring her back?"

    In this novella, that is a cross between time travel and paranormal romance, you'll read a compelling, poetic tale that follows Luke on a heart-breaking journey - one that ... more

  • The Black Madonna

    by Alex Charns
    On August 3, 1994, members of the Durham CATT drug unit body slammed the pregnant Mahlia Queen to the concrete in front of her own home on Shirley Street. The pregnant 42-year-old Duke Hospital nurse was charged with the crime of obstructing an officer moments after the cops killed her five-month-old unborn child. This novel is about Mahlia Queen’s pursuit of justice through the thick blue line of lies and a racist justice system. This novel was inspired by a true story of police brutality and c... more
  • No Birds Sing Here

    by Daniel V. Meier, Jr.
    In this indelible and deeply moving portrait of our time, two young pseudo-intellectuals, BECKMAN and MALANY, set out on an odyssey to define the artistic life, and in doing so, unleash a barrage of humorous, unintended consequences. NBSH is a multi-layered novel about a Post-Modernist America in which characters are struggling to survive in an increasingly chaotic world. Beckman and Malany’s journey reflects the allegorical evolution of humanity from its primal state, represented by Beckman’s ... more
  • Katy Has Two Grampas

    by Julie Schanke Lyford
    Katy's school is celebrating Grandparents Day, and Katy is nervous. She doesn't want to introduce her grandpas in front of the class because she's worried that nobody will understand her lisp. To make matters worse, when Katy tells her teacher that she's inviting her married ''grampas,'' her teacher thinks she means to say grandma and grandpa instead of grandpa and grandpa. Will Katy build the confidence to speak in front of the class and challenge stereotypes? Katy Has Two Grampas is based o... more
  • Finding My Yip

    by Books Forward Author Publicity
    Christine Isley-Farmer weaves together a charming tale featuring a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel as the story’s narrator. When Boomer is a puppy he is unable to yip like his mother and sisters. Boomer lives with Nana Weathers, a musician who possesses a magical ring that helps them communicate. Boomer quickly bonds with Nana’s nine-year-old granddaughter Chloe, who has a stutter. Chloe’s big wish is to sing beautifully like Nana. Chloe and Boomer make new friends at dog obedience school and grow... more
  • Robo Monkey's Feeling Funky

    by Kim Linette
    Why is Robo Monkey feeling funky? Because he’s buried his feelings! Afraid of the unknown, Robo Monkey keeps his feelings buried deep inside. Lucky for Robo, he meets Kit—a wise friend who teaches Robo how to name, understand, and tame his emotions. Learn with Robo the importance of getting to know your feelings—and how to turn wild ones into mild ones. This story centers around the powerful EQ principle: Make Friends with Your Feelings.
  • The Stars That Govern Us

    by J.R. Alcyone
    A gifted young surgeon. One of the 20th century's boldest inventions. And the unconquerable, fragile, and amazing human heart. As one of two dozen teams worldwide performing congenital heart surgeries in the middle 1950s, Alec Serafeim and his best friend, Pete O'Neill, excel in an unforgiving field where the line between life and death is eyelash thin. But while Pete is satisfied with all they have accomplished, Alec aches to do more. Desperate to save more children, he also wishes to be reme... more
  • BULLIES and PEEPS

    by J.D. Suhre
    Meg is a bit of a misfit at school. She prefers nature to people. One day, her only friend joins a popular girl group led by Hannah, the most popular girl in the class. Meg finds a welcome distraction—a goose sitting on a nest of eggs in the school courtyard. Hannah and her girl group bully Meg as she watches and waits for goslings. No one is prepared for what happens after the eggs hatch.
  • The Gods at Number 23

    by Lisa Keeble
    The uproarious new novel from the author of From His Perspective 'presents a hilarious take on mythology and set the tone for the humour/comedy genre'. Zeus looked down on the Parthenon, a scowl on his face. The view hadn’t changed in hundreds of years, plenty of tourists but not a single bloody worshipper. Something had to be done. Lots were drawn and the five losers, Pan, Hades, Hebe, Vesta and Janus ended up in a 3 bedroom semi in Brighton, tasked with overturning religious beliefs that had e... more
  • Brody The Lion: I Can Do It, Yes I Can!

    by Kristin Wegner
    Brody the Lion is a children’s book series that aims to entertain, educate, and empower children and families while spreading awareness and acceptance of different abilities. Each book in the series portrays how Brody faces the challenges of autism with the help of his family, friends, and community. The books are written by a PhD level Clinical Psychologist who has worked with children, adolescents, and adults with special needs for over 30 years. At the end of each book there are resource pag... more
  • Avocado the Turtle: The One and Only

    by Vinay Shankar
    Avocado is not a normal turtle. She is rejected by the other turtles for being too friendly. One day, they decide she should no longer be welcomed in their turtle group, and she is sent away. Upset at first, she eventually meets new friends and starts to understand it doesn't matter what people want her to be. Join Avocado on her journey to find her true self.

Loading...