Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

General Fiction (including literary and historical)

  • The Bookseller

    by Peter Briscoe
    Stories about professors, students, librarians, booksellers, and early scientific explorers. The title story takes place in an Ecuadorian library that is experiencing rampant theft. A literary, intellectual mystery that delves into the library as idea as the world rushes into a digital, post-literate future.
  • Education of a Native Son

    by Harold Dozier

    Education of a Native Son begins where author Richard Wright's novel Native Son ends. Thomas, an African-American young man who grew up in Harlem is accepted to a prestigious Ivy League university in New England. While in college Little, as he is known, will be confronted with the pressures of the everyday college student and the pressures of being Black at a predominately white university (PWI). In addition to adjusting to college life, he will soon learn the secret of his parent... more

  • Addie's Me-Cave

    by Cheryl Palladino and Rachael Ostrowski
    It’s hard to have big feelings, especially when you are little. A young girl has a special place where she can cope with her emotions in a new picture book that emphasizes social emotional learning through imagination and features tools for parents and educators.
  • The Great Enclosure

    by Usil Cel
    As their greatest dreams are about to be realized, three Californians of African descent are visited by angels who inform them that their lives are coming to an end. Gazelle Gweru, thirty-five years old, is a pastry chef who is about to receive the most prestigious award in her profession. Canter Kariba, seventy-three years old, is a recent retiree who is about to speak to her only child for the first time in decades. Sophia Centenary, twenty-six years old, is a full-time reality-TV participa... more
  • Brandy, Ballad of a Pirate Princess

    by Dan Hendrickson
    Brandy Erasmus is the daughter of the most feared pirate of the Caribbean in the early 19th century. Erick Erasmus aka The Plague and his infamous wife The Scarlet Mistress have marauded and ravaged the seas of the Caribbean since before Brandy was born. But on one fateful day when she is fifteen years old, that life drastically ends. First her father is killed by his second in command, Don Lomoche, and then an evil self-important, pompous ass British admiral named Bennets captures and executes ... more
  • FATHER'S DAY PART II - THE SECRET OF LA SANGRE

    by Gary Kyriazi
    It's one year later, Father's Day Eve, 1985, and two bodies lie at the bottom of the cliffs of La Sangre, California. What is wrong with that town? A would-be investigative reporter is determined to find out.
  • The Lighthouse

    by Rebecca Enright
    With a strong bright light, a young lighthouse learns its true purpose in this heartfelt and charming children's book. Children will learn about lighthouses and what they do in this educational story.
  • Bleed More, Bodymore

    by Ian Kirkpatrick

    HORROR IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN EVIL OVERTAKES THE HEART.

    Joey, a mechanic, receives a phone call late in the night to pick up her friend's car from the infamous Baltimore body dumping grounds, Leakin Park. She arrives to find the car abandoned and her friend missing entirely. When she brings the car back to the body shop, she then finds a body in the trunk. While the Baltimore Police Department tries to find her friend under for suspected murder, Joey races to find him first and discov... more

  • The Father, the Son & the Slave

    by Christopher Grant

    You know the Passion narrative. This is the story behind it.

    Metlip, Nubian slave to master carpenter Josef of Nazareth, is roused in the night by the carpenter's estranged son, Iesu. Risking arrest and worse by defying his three-year exile, Iesu has returned to ask his father two questions. The first inspires a family pilgrimage to Jerusalem. The answer to the second will determine whether Iesu implements a daring plan to change the world, a world Josef depends on to hide a secret ... more

  • The Rain Drinkers

    by Gerry Finan
    Set on Long Island, NY in the little town of Bay Shore at the beginning of the twentieth century, “The Rain Drinkers” is the story of a young man’s passage to adulthood. Sent to stay with an abusive relative he has never met and the man’s unfortunate young wife, the younger man is forced to learn lessons of life, friendship, love, and loss. The story touches on many different topics such as racism, immigration, and the American experience at the beginning of a new age.
  • So Pipe the Young

    by Jen Watkins
    Accessible literary fiction with a dash of domestic suspense. Annabelle Granger has always made good decisions. That’s why she quit oil painting in college to become a robotics engineer. That’s why she married Dr. Paul Granger, management consultant, her supportive modern mate. Together with their five-year-old son, Heath, they are living the suburban dream. But Annabelle fears her sensible life lacks originality. Will she ever make her mark? Following a violent death at Heath’s school, th... more
  • News of the Day: Adventures of a Wildly Cantankerous Veteran Newsroom Saving Dying Newspapers

    by Peter Kelton
    The infamous one-eyed editor Big Burt commands a wildly cantankerous gang of oddball veteran reporters in a battle to save daily news from oblivion brought on by collapsing newspapers. He leads from behind a black eye-patch. They expound on local news that has been left behind in the digital age. Their sexual lives interfere, but the comically gathered news ranges from routine obituaries to black bears trapped with doughnuts. All sorts of lives matter as the veterans teach reporting to the next... more
  • Wash Your Hands With Me!

    by Sherica Starling Cheek

    TIME TO WASH YOUR HANDS!  This book engages kids ages 2-7 with a step-by-step guide to washing their hands in a fun, rhythmic and entertaining way.   It continues by teaching kids when to wash their hands, reinforces the steps, so they have sparkly CLEAN HANDS!
    This interactive book promotes:

    • good hygiene
    • fine motor skills
    • cognitive development
    • speaking skills
    • first words

  • Breathe & Swim Deep

    by Jenna Marcus

    Perfect for fans of We Are Okay and The Thing about Jellyfish, this witty and achingly beautiful coming of age story will tackle what it means to be alive, loved, and trusting in a world gone mad...

     

    All 14-year-old Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Thomas wants is normalcy. But a global pandemic prevents him from having anything close to a typical teenager's life. When Wolfgang discovers his father dead in bed from the coronavirus, his world is thrust into even m... more

  • Belief

    by Chris Houston
    A new anthology from Canada’s renowned Ricepaper Magazine, this third collection in the Ricepaper Magazine series includes a wide range of short stories, poetry, and nonfiction by writers of Asian descent from across the world. The theme which binds each piece is “belief,” a notion personal to each individual sharing a piece of themselves in their works. The honorable Joy Kogawa shares her lifelong lessons scribbled in her diary, Carmen Chan shares the trauma experienced by the women in her f... more
  • The Jesus Nut

    by John Prather

    When Dr. Haley Berkshire (a reviled “nullifidian” professor of Religious Studies) uncovers the Gospel According to Trevor, she vows to find the unusual relic it describes. Both Jesse (a homeless man convinced he is the Second Coming) and Father Brian William Callum Robert O’Shea (a priest who loves topless bars) read accounts of her research and begin their own holy pilgrimages. The three characters eventually meet when ejected from an evangelical rally at Temple University ... more

Loading...