Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

General Fiction (including literary and historical)

  • Bay State Skye

    by Janice S. C. Petrie

    When lobster fishermen Jimmy and Murph Sweeney happen upon an abandoned fishing boat that was illegally dragging within state limits, it ignites the tension that has been smoldering between lobstermen and fishermen for years. As the Bay State Skye’s cargo is off-loaded, it sets a series of adverse events in motion for all who share the misfortune of coming into possession of its catch.

    Based on actual events, this historical fiction gives an authentic glimpse into the inner circle of th... more

  • "The Centauri Settlement"

    by j.d. nightingale

    An adventure, set in the period 2020-2070s, about a group of people sent by NASA -- not to Mars, but to our nearest star system. There is no gee-whiz or over-imaginative non-science, and the tale is realistic. Human interactions and flashbacks are strong, and the tale does not shy away from history and a smidgin of elementary astronomy.

  • Count Dumb Time

    by David Price
    Gilmore Funnel falls to temptation in his effort to become a Deacon in the Church
  • Daddy, I Want to Know God

    by Vanessa Fortenberry
    Does God love me all the time? Will He ever leave me? In this rhyming verse story, children's probing questions of their dads shows a burning desire to connect with God personally and to learn more about him. This story depicts the spiritual leadership of fathers as they teach their children about a caring, unfailing, and capable God. This captivating story articulates to young people of all ages and nationalities that through our belief in Jesus Christ we indeed become children of God.
  • The Promise

    by Cramer Louis Jackson
    An obedient son, Manuel tries to fulfill his father's dying wish not knowing that it will serve as the turning point for everyone's lives. As Manuel begins to fulfill the promise, he is caught in a serendipitous moment that leads him to become one of the highly respected figures in town and a subject of jealousy to other people. He indulges in many marvelous undertakings in the community, and in the end, he looks back and says to himself that he has kept the promise. But somehow, he knows that t... more
  • Rooster, a Field Trail Fable

    by Edward Pontacoloni
    There is a pooka in this story, a blue butterfly sprite from the once, long ago forests of Ireland. And, there is the Irish Tom Quinn, an old field trialer, who would pin his dream of a national championship upon the likes of sprites and leprechauns. There is the teenaged Michael, a novice who, with Tom’s niece Amy, shares Tom’s dreams in a sport where the competition can be conspiratorial and snarling. And, then, there is Rooster, the flop eared, yellow-eyed “mongrel breed” with just enoug... more
  • Leave Her Out: A Novel

    by Daniel Davidsohn

    Crafted by the succinct words, narrative and descriptions of Davidsohn’s masterful writing. Praise for this political thriller.Lisa McCombs for Readers’ Favorite


    Every president has secrets. Some secrets have a life of their own.


    After the death of his wife, former president Anthony Morris moves to Montana to spend his final days in anonymity, writing his memoirs—his final legacy to his estranged and c... more

  • The Tannell's Family Secret

    by Lashonda Beauregard
    The Tannells are the wealthiest family in the fictional town of Bayouville, Louisiana. They seem to have it all with money, power, and fame. Thomas and Savannah have always tried to paint the perfect picture of the Tannell family, but are they really perfect? As a hurricane is approaching Bayouville, Louisiana, Mr. Tannell is dealing with a storm of his own. What secret could Mr. Tannell be hiding that could shatter the Tannells' image and empire? What could the Dawson-Rollands, an average mid... more
  • I'll Know Me When I Find Me

    by Helen J. Darling

    Jane’s in a rut. Can she dig herself out without burying her best friend?

    Jane Desmond feels like a failure. Sure, she has a good job and a roof over her head, but nothing else seems to ever go her way. Unwanted attention from an infatuated coworker and meddlesome matchmaking from her mother has her professional and social life in tatters.

    When her best friend Thea loses her job a few days after purchasing her dream home, Jane steps in to help. But when her... more

  • THE MOSAIC

    by Daniel Bruce Levin
    A ground breaking book, in the tradition of The Alchemist and The Celestine Prophecy, The Mosaic by marketing expert and activist, Daniel Levin invites a new way to see the world that focuses on what connects us to each other and brings happiness. THE MOSAIC follows the journey of Mo, a boy who loses his parents two years a part on the same day. When he asks the adults where his parents went, they tell him they are in heaven. So Mo sets out to find the place called Heaven but along the way he ... more
  • The Lollie Tree

    by Whitney Williams McDuff
    A story of love and the magic that happens when we have the courage to conquer our fears, The Lollie Tree is a heartwarming tale for every child who looks to their parent for strength, and for every parent who looks to their child for wonder. When a little boy is given a magic stone passed down through generations, he discovers an incredible world living in the tree that will ultimately help him overcome his greatest fear. A perfect bedtime story for children and adults alike, The Lollie Tree... more
  • Kitty Kat Wants Stripes

    by Elka Peterson
    When a new cat with stripes comes to town, Kitty Kat is sent on a personal journey where she learns the valuable lesson that differences are what make us special.
  • Larry and Friends

    by Carla Torres
    Larry and Friends is a captivating story about immigration and integration that celebrates diversity and supports tolerance. The protagonist is Larry the dog who is a juggler from Brooklyn, the friends are a diverse set of animals from different places of the world. The story tells why the characters end up relocating in New York and how they became friends with Larry. Through their stories the characters bring forward the most luminous light of the human spirit.
  • The Lost Chord

    by Aleks Matza
    Can a man with little more than a bicycle and books reclaim the passions of his life through the memories of his past? The Lost Chord, an 82,000 word novel with alternating storylines set thirty years apart, tells the story of Dmitri, a pianist and composer, Ekaterina (a violist) and the Narrator (French horn) whose lives in 1980s Chicago center around their love for classical music, high-spirited competitions and eclectic debates. Interspersed throughout the novel are meditative recollection... more
  • My Turn

    by Aleks Matza
    Love is a state of mind...
  • The Invitation

    by Aleks Matza
    Two exiled staff members of the Art Institute of Chicago are invited to attend the grand reopening of the museum as reimagined by a charismatic and messianic former student and the city's dysfunctional denizens. Set in a near future society well past its expiration date, The Invitation is a satirical tale of unbounded political correctness in a United States not so united anymore.

Loading...