Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

General Fiction (including literary and historical)

  • The Birthday Picture: and Other Stories

    by Caitlin M.S. Buxbaum

    The Birthday Picture and Other Stories is a collection of genre-bending short fiction written by Alaskan author Caitlin M.S. Buxbaum and published by Red Sweater Press.

    These stories are the results of an imagination at work over a span of 10 years, from 2010 to 2020. They will take you from Iceland to Italy, the Midwest to New England, the present day to the 1920s, and more times and places in between. They are dark, sad, strange, and sometimes humorous. Themes range from mental and ph... more

  • Consequences

    by Nicole Evelina
    Famous for her hospitality, Venerable Catherine McAuley only ever turned away one woman who came to her for help, and that decision haunted her for the rest of her life. This is that servant’s story. Dublin – 1824. When a fellow maid is forced to temporarily vacate her position under scandalous circumstances, Margaret finds herself in an elevated position under the watchful eye of their master, the infamous Lord Montague. He believes in total obedience from those in his employ and when she... more
  • Enemy Patriots

    by Rodger Carlyle
    His family imprisoned on a visit to Japan, Mark Ishihara is ordered to the family fish processing plant across the bay from America’s only military base in Alaska’s Aleutian Islands. With the planned bombing of Pearl Harbor only months away, his job is to spy for Japan, as they prepare to seize American territory. Mark’s blood brother, U.S. Army pilot Chad Gritt is sent to the same island as part of a secret American intelligence group. The two men are forever tied by a terrible accident that k... more
  • Candy, Sweet & Sour

    by Bobbi Faulkner
  • When the Tamarind Tree Blooms

    by Elaine Russell
    Genevieve (Vivi) Dubois, a half-Lao/half-French métisse, turns eighteen and leaves the French orphanage where she has lived for fourteen unhappy years. (The colonial government forced many native mothers in Indochina to give up their mixed race children after the French fathers abandoned them and returned to France. The system tried to keep the children’s origins hidden from them.) Vivi is determined to discover the story of her parents. She finds herself immersed in the deeply divided world of ... more
  • Foreign Teachers

    by Sam Wade
    Westerners Andy Dutton and Danny Cole teach English at Luxury Gardens International School in China. Despite being unqualified as teachers, they earn relatively high salaries, and enjoy lives of privilege and indulgence, traveling Southeast Asia, drinking excessively and visiting brothels. Meanwhile, the school principal, Peter Li, is busy trying to build the school into one with an elite global reputation. His plan involves getting the school accredited by the International Diploma Organizat... more
  • The Wall Plug Boys

    by Peter Sandor
  • Reset Life

    by Bohdan Khomyn
    Coming out of a troubled childhood and having recently lost her father, Emily discovers that she is no ordinary teen! And she realizes that her father’s last gift to her is no ordinary trinket. The once shy African American girl who sought her mother’s attention is all grown! All that stands between the death of thousands, is Emily and her group of friends: different males who in some way are interested in her. In the quest to save lives, emotional boundaries will be pushed, and the mettle of th... more
  • Hummer

    by Linda Gruenberg
    When an old man agrees to let twelve-year-old Hummer train his Arabian mare for a competitive trail ride, it is the one bright spot in her difficult life with a mentally ill mother and a father who won't recognize the problem.
  • Diversionary Fires

    by Rodney Ross
    Tara Atwater holds the right combination of numbers to the record-breaking Ohio state lottery. But what to do about the boyfriend, stabbed to death, on the kitchen floor? It was, after all, his ticket. A diversionary fire might be the answer. Left in her grandparents’ care as her reckless mother worked the carnival circuit, Tara learned about sleight-of-hand flame, purposely created to distract from something far bigger, at age nine. As decades flicker past, from the 1970s until the beginning of... more
  • INAUSPICIOUS

    by R. L. K. EASTABROOKS
    INAUSPICIOUS is the international saga of Rajasthani teenage bride, Triti Sharma, whose harrowing escape from the flames of a forbidden ancient ritual takes her from the desert sands of India to the streets of New York City where her soul twin, Jaq Morel, helps her uncover the horrors of her forgotten past. Spanning two continents, five cities, and three divergent cultures, INAUSPICIOUS is a modern story of survival, redemption, and the transcendent brilliance of synchronicity.
  • Spooked by a Suspicion

    by Risa Nyman
    One major life change should be the limit for any kid. ~Rocky’s theory About to transition from middle school to high school, Rocky is shocked when his mother announces her plan to marry Ted, a devious man with a devil’s beard, ominous eyebrows in constant motion, and black, beady eyes. Rocky decides to take Ted on and axe the impending marriage until a series of strange accidents convince Rocky that Ted is using some evil powers against him. With the help of his girlfriend Olive Roc... more
  • The Trials of Adeline Turner

    by Angela Terry
    From Charming Falls Apart author Angela Terry comes a story about finding the courage to face your past, be true to your heart, and live your best life. Fans of Sophie Kinsella and Emily Giffin will enjoy cheering for Adeline Turner as she navigates the twists and turns of her newly complicated life in this fun, heartwarming novel. Thirty-three-year-old corporate attorney Adeline Turner has built her adult life around stability. Her professional life is thriving, but her personal life . . . n... more
  • The Girl in the Triangle

    by Joyana Peters
    It’s been four years since seventeen-year-old Ruth set eyes on her fiancé. After surviving near-starvation, revolution and a long trip across the stormy ocean, she can’t help but wonder: Will Abraham still love her? Or has America changed him? Nowhere’s as full of change as 1909 New York. From moving pictures to daring clothes to the ultra-modern Triangle Shirtwaist Factory where she gets a job, everything exhilarates Ruth. When the New World even seems to rejuvenate her bond with Abraham, she ... more
  • Hama the Pig's Big Adventure

    by Alexis Fajardo

    Hama the pig spends his days stuck in a pigpen perched on top of a hill and watches the proud Viking ships sail the waves on their way to adventure. Hama wishes he could join them, but pigs are not made for such things. Hama will soon learn that adventure doesn’t care who you are or how little you might be…it just wants you to be ready for it!


    From the pages of the acclaimed graphic novel series, Kid Beowulf, comes a one-of-a-kind storybook for young readers featu... more

  • Gateway of the Sun

    by Michael Joseph DeRosa
    Three teens unlock a mysterious teleportation system that connects the world’s Stone Age megaliths. Eagle Scouts, Bugsy Houghton and Frankie Fatone camp at America's Stonehenge in New Hampshire, watching the sun rise over the standing stone. Frankie plays a tune on a pocket keyboard. They disappear into a vortex of light, instantly reappearing under Bolivia's prehistoric arch, "Gateway of the Sun," interrupting a tribal blood ceremony and flee for their lives. Returning home they test the pheno... more

Loading...