Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Paperback Details
  • 01/2015
  • 978-0692352571
  • 396 pages
  • $16.00
Ebook Details
  • 01/2015
  • 9780996278348 B00R5BFAUW
  • 400 pages
  • $3.99
A Truth Stranger Than Fiction
Chris Orcutt, author

Adult; Mystery/Thriller; (Market)

HE’S BACK. Dakota Stevens. The tough, wisecracking New York private eye. And he’s smarter, funnier and sexier than ever. And so is his “Watson”—brilliant chess grandmaster Svetlana Krüsh. With her dry wit. Her runway legs. Her predator eyes. A woman hires Dakota for a simple missing persons case. But it only seems simple. What begins as the search for a bestselling author soon takes a turn for the worst. For the first time in his career, it’s personal. Dakota is plunged into a bizarre, interconnected world. A world of foreign spies and fangirls. Mobsters and murderers. Government bureaucrats and corporate profiteers. At the heart of the mystery, he discovers a secret. A secret with the power to change the world. And the truth is a truth stranger than fiction. DETAILED PRODUCT DESCRIPTION: A Truth Stranger Than Fiction, the 3rd novel in the critically acclaimed Dakota Stevens Mystery Series, delves into the bizarre, interconnected world of bestselling authors, foreign spies, fangirls, mobsters, murderers, government bureaucrats and corporate profiteers. Manhattan PI Dakota Stevens has just moved into new offices on Fifth Avenue when a young woman walks in with a problem: her older brother, a famous science fiction author, has been missing for a week. Before Dakota even has a chance to take the case, he and the girl are accosted by a horde of groups searching for the brother: government agents, thugs, mobsters, and two mysterious Chinese men. What could her brother possibly be into? In a case that leads from the streets of Manhattan to the woods of Upstate New York, to the shores of Maine, to Boston, to Washington, D.C. and the Midwest—by foot, train, truck, boat and private jet—what begins as a simple missing persons investigation quickly devolves into the most difficult and personal case of Dakota’s career. In the end, Dakota exposes a secret that literally has the power to change the world. With humor, action, intrigue, and lush writing, A Truth Stranger Than Fiction is a compelling noir mystery in the tradition of Robert Parker and Raymond Chandler.
Reviews
Fans of Mickey Spillane’s more over-the-top Mike Hammer adventures will welcome Orcutt’s third Dakota Stevens outing (after 2014’s The Rich Are Different). The PI has just moved into a new Manhattan office when a desperate prospective client, 18-year-old Kelsey Wright, asks him to find her missing brother, Conover, a famous science fiction writer who was working on a mysterious new work of nonfiction. But even before Dakota can agree to help Kelsey, who’s also upset that she’s being tailed, a string of intruders to his office, including FBI agents, thugs from Nebraska, and two mobsters, insist on learning what Kelsey knows about Conover’s whereabouts. Dakota and Kelsey later go on the lam, aided by an eccentric group of allies headed by Svetlana Krüsh, a former U.S. chess champion, who plays the role of Velda (Mike Hammer’s secretary) to Dakota. Readers should expect plenty of bloodshed and action en route to an unexpected resolution of the mystery. (BookLife)
Formats
Paperback Details
  • 01/2015
  • 978-0692352571
  • 396 pages
  • $16.00
Ebook Details
  • 01/2015
  • 9780996278348 B00R5BFAUW
  • 400 pages
  • $3.99

Loading...