Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 01/2021
  • 9781913551360
  • 469 pages
  • $3.99
Paperback Details
  • 01/2021
  • 9781913551360
  • 469 pages
  • $12
Colony

Adult; Mystery/Thriller; (Market)

A team is undertaking an environmental survey on a remote Arctic island off the north coast of Russia. At the same time that members of the expedition start to mysteriously disappear, one of them - Scottish archaeologist Callum Ross - makes a gruesome discovery. A mutilated prehistoric corpse that has been frozen solid in the sub-zero temperatures. Suddenly stranded on the island by an act of eco-terrorism, Callum and the other surviving team members soon realise that they are being hunted, and by more than one species. The novel follows their desperate fight to escape the mist-shrouded island while solving the puzzle of the ancient ice mummy.
Reviews
Barnes & Noble

I can't believe I'm typing this, but the ebook edition of COLONY is now a Barnes & Noble BESTSELLER!!!!!!! Thank you so very much to everybody that has bought a copy!

Barnes & Noble

COLONY a Barnes & Noble Top 5!!!

Wow! Colony has made it as one of this week's top 5 Indie ebooks at Barnes & Noble!! Can't tell you how thrilled I am to see this - absolutely fantastic! Thanks to everybody who has bought a copy and made this happen, and thanks to the team at Barnes & Noble Press and Barnes & Noble for recognising Colony and including it in the blog!! #writingcommunity #books #barnesandnoble #colony #BrumRadio #bookguild https://press.barnesandnoble.com/bnpress-blog/five-favorite-indie-ebooks/?fbclid=IwAR26wnwE5kQ6pvTfNEd_PHBhXQLv2okIOHr9LJLDAzlZTIfBshdIBvJ87UE

Colony a #1 Bestseller on Amazon!!!!

Colony is now a #1 Bestseller on Amazon. No words🙃 #WritingCommunity #amwriting #books #thriller #archaeology #action #adventure #readingcommunity #mystery #suspense #horror #BookGuild #Bestseller

Colony granted an 'Indie Books We Love' award by LoveReading!

Delighted to announce that Colony has been granted a coveted 'Indie Books We Love' award by LoveReading! The accompanying review was as follows:

Colony by Benjamin Cross is an action packed Arctic thriller that kicks off with a bang as we witness the death of a Neolithic hunter at the hands/claws of a mysterious creature. When Professor Callum Ross discovers the mummified remains he knows he must find out more, but there are other people out to stop him and something else seems to be watching.

I loved the descriptions of the setting and the work put into creating the backstory. Colony reminded me of an Indiana Jones / Nathan Drake plotline, as our archaeologist protagonist puts work before his family, and sets out against competition to uncover the truth. I liked the way that the author built tension throughout as well as the brief moments of humour to lighten the atmosphere as I read. There were lots of twists and turns and I was eager to find out what would happen in the end.

I would say that Colony is a great book for those who like thrilling adventures with elements of horror, as well as tension filled reads set in the Arctic. An entertaining book.

COLONY is an Amazon Bestseller!!!

Genuinely can't believe I'm saying this, but COLONY is currently an Amazon.com BESTSELLER!! It is #10 in Mystery Action Fiction, and  #11 in Action Thriller Fiction and Suspense Action Fiction. I'm absolutely blown away by this!! 🤪🤪 #WritingCommunity #amwriting #books #thriller #archaeology #action #adventure #readingcommunity #mystery #suspense #horror #BookGuild #Bestseller 

Reedsy Discovery

5 Stars

What a fantabulous thriller! Action-packed, bone-chilling, riveting thriller that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Fasten your seatbelts coz you are in for one heck of a roller-coaster ride!

Having read the blurb, I thought this story is all about 'innocent people caught between the fight of two powerful and rich businessmen'. But I was so wrong! A folklore, a sinister secret and evolution plays a major role in shaping whatever is hiding in the mist.

Our main character Callum is perfectly imperfect. His dedication to work has cost him his family. He was assigned to the mission when he was vacationing with his son Jamie. Callum had to leave immediately and Jamie is not happy. Nor is Callum's ex-wife. When Callum reaches Harmsworth, he's not sure whom to trust. The wealthy Russian business man who's in charge of this expedition seems a little shady too.

As days pass by, one of his colleagues goes missing and a search party is sent. Meanwhile, a rival businessman wants to destroy the mission and he has a man on the inside to do the job for him. As people go missing and their mutilated bodies are found later, Callum and his mates realize they are not alone on the island. Also, whatever is hiding in the mist is stalking them and ready to attack when the time is right.

The suspense and the tension are at an all-time high throughout the story. Character development is impressive and the plot to story development is superb. I was hooked on to the story and could not put it down until the end. An action-packed thriller with a dash of horror makes Colony an engrossing read.

As a debut novel, Colony is too good to be true. I absolutely enjoyed every bit of the story and I am certainly looking forward to reading Benjamin Cross' next book. 

News
12/15/2020
5* Review from Readers' Favorite!

Delighted to announce that Colony has received a 5* Reader's Favorite review! The reviewer described Colony as, 'a brilliant novel that ticks all the boxes for a fast-paced and intelligent read. Benjamin Cross is able to create intrigue from the first page... peeling back the layers with the measured hand of a great writer as the story unfolds, and allowing us to get to know the characters well enough to lean in for another chapter... The descriptions are gorgeous, perhaps enhanced by a backdrop of blood and fear, and even the characters with exactly zero redeeming qualities are bathed in prose they don't deserve. This book is very highly recommended.'

12/09/2020
Avanti Centrae: "Cross is a talented new voice"

Absolutely thrilled to announce that Colony has received high praise from multi-award-winning and #1 bestselling thriller author Avanti Centrae!

Avanti described Colony as follows:

"Deliciously terrifying. Cross is a talented new voice."

01/29/2021
BESTSELLER!!!!!!

I can't believe I'm tweeting this, but the ebook edition of COLONY is now a Barnes & Noble BESTSELLER!!!!!!! Thank you so very much to everybody that has bought a copy!

 
03/02/2021
Colony a #1 Bestseller on Amazon!!!!

Colony is now a #1 Bestseller on Amazon. No words🙃 #WritingCommunity #amwriting #books #thriller #archaeology #action #adventure #readingcommunity #mystery #suspense #horror #BookGuild #Bestseller

03/01/2021
COLONY is an Amazon Bestseller!!!!

Genuinely can't believe I'm saying this, but COLONY is currently an Amazon.com BESTSELLER!! It is #10 in Mystery Action Fiction, and  #11 in Action Thriller Fiction and Suspense Action Fiction. I'm absolutely blown away by this!! 🤪🤪 #WritingCommunity #amwriting #books #thriller #archaeology #action #adventure #readingcommunity #mystery #suspense #horror #BookGuild #Bestseller 

12/26/2020
First print run nearly sold out!

Hugely excited to announce that the first print run of COLONY has already nearly sold out on pre-order!!

12/20/2020
GoodReads Giveaway - 10 SIGNED COPIES of COLONY

Win one of 10 SIGNED COPIES of this fast-paced thriller, 5* Readers' Favorite and Reedsy Must Read! "Deliciously terrifying" according to #1 bestselling author, Avanti Centrae, COLONY will keep you on the edge of your seat, turning the pages into the small hours. Fans of James Rollins, Clive Cussler, Lincoln Child and Michael Crichton are sure to relish this adrenaline-fuelled race for survival across a remote, mist-shrouded Arctic island with an ancient terror at its heart...

https://www.goodreads.com/giveaway/show/316633-colony

01/17/2021
GoodReads Giveaway!!!

With only a day left to go until the end of the GoodReads Giveaway, well over 3000 people have entered for the chance to win one of 10 signed copies of COLONY!!!! I've been absolutely blown away by the response - thank you so much to all who have entered. If you haven't, then there's still 24 hours left on the clock! Best of luck to all who have/do enter👍

Ben

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 01/2021
  • 9781913551360
  • 469 pages
  • $3.99
Paperback Details
  • 01/2021
  • 9781913551360
  • 469 pages
  • $12

Loading...