Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Dollops Of Dreams

Adult; General Fiction (including literary and historical); (Market)

Subtle but strong emotions and thoughts and epiphany moments  are blended  with the magic ingredient of pure affection ...
 

A brief peek into the characters whom you would soon be cheering for :

Geethanjali : She held a management degree...but was not allowed to manage her own life ....did she grow wiser and gain control on all that matters ?

Ryan : He was a doctor in general medicine ...but for a while was a doctor in absent mindedness ... did he find his prescription for it ?

Sathish : The listless, bearded young man... did he transform into a throbbing, confident young man and get off that beard ?

Arockiaswany : The managing director of a 100 year old hostpital ... but was not an easy position ...would the noble work of that small hospital hold out for another 100 years ?

Treat yourself to this different, practical and realistic style of this assuredly good read!

Reviews
This socially conscious debut romance novel details the cross-cultural relationship between Ryan Richardson, an American doctor in India, and Geethanjali Vasudevan, an Indian hospital administrator from a traditional family. Geetha begins working in the Chennai hospital’s administrative department and meets Ryan after helping with the sudden illness of Ryan’s visiting Aunt Agatha. Geetha and Ryan are both divorced and romance-shy, but they keep being drawn together. Through shared personal philosophies and devotion to service, they find the courage and strength required for healing and renewal, despite significant challenges.

The sizable cast helps to round the story out, and some very difficult family members contrast with a few wonderfully supportive ones. As Geetha and Ryan’s relationship slowly develops, they assist aging relatives, volunteer at an orphanage, and struggle to save their financially endangered hospital. Geetha’s opposition to a second arranged marriage pushes against the power of her family elders, but she and Ryan also benefit from the affectionate meddling of their aunts, who encourage their relationship. The virtues of selfless giving and attention to health emerge as significant elements in the journey that leads them closer to each other.

Lots of dialogue and close-ups of facial expressions make the short chapters feel like episodes of a TV series, and sometimes come at the expense of setting the scene. Readers unfamiliar with India might benefit from descriptions of architecture and art or the marriage hall, and fans of romantic beach scenes will wish the ones in this novel were more detailed. However, the well-constructed story draws readers to empathize with the main characters and ponder the issues they face. This thoughtful romance holds considerable appeal for readers interested in social and familial concerns as well as love stories.

Takeaway: Fans of contemporary multicultural romances who prefer relatively chaste novels with a focus on familial and social concerns will enjoy this slow-burn love story.

Great for fans of Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni’s Arranged Marriage: Stories, Shilpi Somaya Gowda’s The Golden Son.

Production grades
Cover: A
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: -
Editing: B
Marketing copy: A

Loading...