Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Hamelin Stoop: The Eagle, the Cave, and the Footbridge

Children/Young Adult; Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror; (Market)

Afraid of being caught by trackers from another world, a young mother abandons her baby boy in a tomato box inside the screened porch of a children's home. The staff at the orphanage name him Hamelin Stoop, but he grows up longing to learn his real name, find his parents, and thus discover his true identity. Life is not easy for Hamelin. He belongs to everyone, though in some ways to no one fully. And the people he is closest to leave him one by one. A letter from an older friend advises Hamelin to "keep waiting and keep hoping." Bitter experiences force Hamelin to wait, but he has to learn how to hope. When the children's home forgets his eighth birthday, he sneaks away at night. He soon discovers that he isn't just running away -- he is being summoned by the Ancient One. Guided by the Great Eagle through a mysterious cave, Hamelin must pass a dangerous test of courage before he can find his parents. Hamelin's failures, fears, and hopes become part of a larger story, a story of a great struggle between worlds and kingdoms where the old myths of magic, evil contracts, and enslaved children turn out to be real.
Reviews
Journey of a Bookseller

They are running and their trackers are getting closer. They can't let them have the baby. The father runs and throws the blanket off the cliff into the raging river below. The trackers are very sorry they lost the main prize, but they take them into custody. Only the mother knows what really happened to the child...

The publisher sent me a copy of this book to read for review (thank you). It has been published so you can buy a copy now.

This book sets the pace for the new series. You learn about the hidden world as well as the world the boy child lives in. You watch him grow. And you learn about the intrigue going on in both worlds. The dictator in the underworld wants a male that is a mix of the two worlds for his boss. When he lost the baby he wanted, he demands his parents have another. When the baby is a girl, he kills it and demands another...

The young boy is having his own adventures in the other world. An eagle led him to a cave but he was too scared to cross the footbridge. He knows he must, but he has to wait until he's called again. This book ends with him bracing himself for his quest.

There's much more to be fleshed out but it's an enjoyable read despite the evil dictator. Give it a try and see what you think.

Louis Markos

Hamelin Stoop offers all the best qualities of the young adult fantasy novel: a fast-paced narrative that seamlessly mixes the wondrous with the everyday; a careful juggling of diverse characters who appear and disappear at just the right moment; a slow, organic unfolding of secrets and mysteries. And something more. In the tradition of George MacDonald, C. S. Lewis, and J. R. R. Tolkien, Robert Sloan offers three things that have been lacking in modern fantasy: a deep and nuanced understanding of the true nature of good and evil; an equally nuanced understanding of the true nature of masculinity and femininity; a thoughtful meditation on the nature of providence and free will that takes seriously the consequences of our choices . . . even, and especially, when they are made by children.

News
07/01/2017
Book Trailer Released!

Hamelin Stoop: The Eagle, the Cave, and the Footbridge now has a 30-second book trailer! Watch the trailer on Youtube or HamelinStoop.com.

Loading...