Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 06/2020
  • 978-1-7350160-1-6 B08BBVWBF9
  • 183 pages
  • $2.99
Paperback Details
  • 06/2020
  • 978-1-7350160-0-9 1735016004
  • 183 pages
  • $8.99
Happy Father's Day

Adult; Memoir; (Market)

Happy Father's Day, by first-time author Virginia Madison, is available for Father's Day 2020. An easy read, this book will touch anyone who has experienced a close bond with a loved one. The descriptive writing transports the reader into each scene and you feel that you are there experiencing the events and emotions in person.
Reviews
Madison’s emotional memoir eulogizes, honors, and pays homage to her beloved father, who died when she was a young adult. The storytelling is bracketed by scenes of her father’s untimely death after a struggle with lymphoma, but between those bookends of suffering, Madison builds a delicate and affecting portrait of her father, whom she calls Old Bean. The chapters are short and episodic, so readers can turn to essentially any page for a meaningful, self-contained story about a man who always kept ample amounts of tissue paper in his pocket, just in case his family members had a need for it, and made the best milk tea, which Madison eagerly anticipated on her visits from her home in the U.S. to her native Hong Kong.

Writing to her father in the second person, Madison all but erases herself from her own memoir. The reader will sometimes feel the lack of context, background, and character-building around the narrator herself. Readers seeing her only in connection to her father will wonder who she is independent of him; yet she seems almost to resolutely turn the lens away from herself and use her experiences only as a conduit through which to portray a man with whom she had a complex, deeply loving relationship.

Many of the snapshots of Madison’s father show a parent doing unremarkable things: caring for a sick child, arriving to the airport an hour early, helping a little too much with homework, taking a Sunday nap. But Madison writes, “Nothing you did for us was simply ordinary,” and she takes care to show the beauty, fun, and love in these quiet moments and small gestures. The stories read like a catharsis for the author, a final love letter to the man whose indelible presence shaped her upbringing and will surely continue to guide her future.

Takeaway: Readers looking for a touching, tender father-daughter story will gravitate toward this memoir of a charming, attentive, and deeply caring father gone too soon.

Great for fans of Sarah Tomlinson, Jeannette Walls.

Production grades
Cover: B+
Design and typography: B
Illustrations: -
Editing: B
Marketing copy: C

News
07/12/2020
Happy Father's Day is available for $1 during the month of July

In celebration of my dad's birthday month, Happy Father's Day in eBook format is available for $1 during the month of July.
Happy Birthday, my Old Bean!

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 06/2020
  • 978-1-7350160-1-6 B08BBVWBF9
  • 183 pages
  • $2.99
Paperback Details
  • 06/2020
  • 978-1-7350160-0-9 1735016004
  • 183 pages
  • $8.99

Loading...