Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Hardcover Details
  • 11/2020
  • 978-1-925973-12-9 1925973123
  • 40 pages
  • $17.99
Paperback Details
  • 11/2020
  • 978-1-925973-14-3 192597314X
  • 42 pages
  • $11.99
I Wish You Happiness
Michael Wong, author

Children/Young Adult; General Fiction (including literary and historical); (Market)

A beautifully illustrated collection of inspiring wishes to empower children to be the best they can be.
Reviews
Wong (the Picco Puppy series) and Baratashvili combine sweet words of inspiration with beautiful digital paintings of children embarking on adventures. The bold and enthusiastic characters include young versions of celebrated figures: Neil Armstrong climbing to the moon as Katherine Johnson aims his ladder, Amelia Earhart flying a balloon that’s a giant dandelion puff, J.K. Rowling scribbling in a notebook. Wong’s brief phrases (“I wish you knowledge and wisdom, for they are the foundations of a successful life”) are lifted by the nuanced, upbeat, and spirited portraits of children playing in the snow, lying on the grass, and sharing an umbrella in the rain, often accompanied by favorite toys and delightful pets.

The positive and encouraging text is warm and sincere without being overly sentimental. Wong doesn't shy away from abstract concepts such as resilience, faith, and prosperity, but the rich colors and picturesque details of the images help to make their meaning clear, though young children may press for further explanations. The final page of facts about the historical characters and trivia about the different breeds of dog (and one cat) depicted throughout the book will encourage rereading and help the work hold children’s interest as they grow.

Gently encouraging readers to cherish their luck, seek tranquility, and hope for the best, Wong elevates kindness and quiet joy over material success, a valuable message for many parents as well as for children. Baratashvili takes care to include a variety of ethnicities and a girl in a wheelchair, helping children to see themselves in the book and believe that these wishes really are meant for them. The wide-ranging affirmations and lovely artwork make this an excellent baby shower gift or a whimsical graduation present. Both adults and children will find this bedtime read worth returning to again and again.

Takeaway: This enchanting and encouraging picture book will capture the imagination of developing readers and the adults who want only the best for them.

Great for fans of Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Tom Litchenheld’s I Wish You More, Marianne Richmond’s Be Brave Little One, Lisa Mantchev and Jessica Courtney-Tickle’s The Perfectly Perfect Wish.

Production grades
Cover: A-
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: A
Editing: B
Marketing copy: C

Formats
Hardcover Details
  • 11/2020
  • 978-1-925973-12-9 1925973123
  • 40 pages
  • $17.99
Paperback Details
  • 11/2020
  • 978-1-925973-14-3 192597314X
  • 42 pages
  • $11.99

Loading...