Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 10/2015
  • B0170NIAFQ
  • 233 pages
  • $4.99
Paperback Details
  • 10/2015
  • 978-1518739583
  • 233 pages
  • $12.99
Kathy Cyr
Author
Max Hamby and the Emerald Hunt
Kathy Cyr, author

Children/Young Adult; Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror; (Market)

"The Max Hamby series is perfect for readers of Harry Potter, Fablehaven, Unwanteds, Septimus Heap and Charlie Bone. A mix of magic, adventure, humor, friendship and family that draws you in."

___________________________________________________

“Let me out, witch," growled Alice. She hummed off key. Griselda stepped away from the door. "I can help the little wee babes," Alice sung sweetly. "Through the woods and into the dark. Where he whispers the words to make his mark. Little boy of green..." she chuckled. "...has gone to the wizard who is evil and mean.” 

Max Hamby’s story continues, but this time he is joined by Milo Jenkins.
The battle between good and evil has just begun.
Oxworth Pitt destroyed Max’s home and trapped his mother in the Shadowstone with a three hundred year old witch.
Isolde is getting stronger.
Max must travel to Grimhold, a goblin slave market, to find the next stone before Oxworth or risk losing everything.
Milo Jenkins has always been a big believer in myth and magic, but he’s left reeling from a nightmare filled with destruction and images of Max Hamby.
When he’s given his grandfather’s strange pendant, with a warning to never take it off, he becomes suspicious that there might be more to his nightmare than he thought.
His suspicions are confirmed when he learns that Pleasant Seas has been destroyed and an entire community lost and sets out on a quest to learn the truth.

‚Äč___________________________________________________

Max Hamby and the Emerald Hunt is the second book in Kathy Cyr’s Max Hamby series; a middle grade fantasy series.

Reviews
Amazon Review

Twelve-year old Milo Jenkins sits on the edge of his bed and tells his grandmother about a nightmare he had the night before. There were gnomes, a dwarf, a troll—a troll? Did I mention the witches? One of which would be the cause of any nightmare that any kid might ever have, but not this time. This time it’s Max Hamby and… Oh no!

Even though it’s only a dream, Milo’s got to investigate. Especially after finding out that Pleasant Seas, where Max lived  has been destroyed. Uneasily, Milo enters Pleasant Seas and walks down the town’s main street. Everything is eerily quiet. No movement of any kind, yet he can feel that someone or something is there. He comes to a door, a door that is covered in soot, but completely undamaged. How can that be with all this destruction? Carefully, he cleans the door and admires its detailed carvings of vines, leaves and flowers that decorate the door frame. Is someone talking? Behind that door, Milo finds Bimpmip and Tumbleflump. Two gnomes who have also come to check out the damage.

Milo has so many questions he wants to ask them about this mystery. Their advice—no warning —is to get home before it gets dark. They disappear and that witch—you know the one that causes nightmares. The one I mentioned earlier is standing right there in front of him….

Thank goodness for his grandfather’s protective shield which his grandmother gave him before he left home. Suddenly, Milo wakes up to find that he’s outside of the building behind some bushes when Max Hamby walks by…follow by the Gooch brothers! What is Max doing with those bullies? Ah…is—is that a troll? With breath held, Milo watches as they enter the house. Of course, he follows, thus the adventure begins.

The UNIQUE thing that makes Max Hamby and The Emerald Hunt Book 2 A Different Kind of Read is the way that Kathy Cyr introduces another point of view or main character into this book full of mystery, adventure, and magic. Don’t get me wrong, Max is all over this book, but it isn’t long before he realizes that he can’t complete his task of finding the second stone without Milo’s help. Parents beware, this book is a page turner that will keep you up way past your bedtime. It will also do the same to your kids, provided they can get it away from you.

RECOMMENDATION

Max Hamby and the Emerald Hunt Book 2 is recommended for Middle Grade Readers. It is also a great book to read with older (6-8) First Time Readers.

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 10/2015
  • B0170NIAFQ
  • 233 pages
  • $4.99
Paperback Details
  • 10/2015
  • 978-1518739583
  • 233 pages
  • $12.99

Loading...