Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Hardcover Book Details
  • 09/2020
  • 9781734478600
  • 32 pages
  • $16.95
Mindfulness at the Park
Lovable; curious Little Mouse is back to help kids use yoga and mindfulness to solve problems and manage emotions in "Mindfulness at the Park"; the second book in the "Little Mouse Adventures" series from Teresa Power; the international bestselling author of "The ABCs of Yoga for Kids" series and Kids' Yoga Day creator! Little Mouse and his family live in a cozy burrow nestled in Tammy McDoodle's backyard. Tammy and her mother love to practice yoga and mindfulness together; and Little Mouse loves to follow along. In this beautifully illustrated book; adorable Little Mouse; along with Tammy's wise and lovably lazy cat; Mr. Opus; follow Tammy's family on an adventure to a bustling neighborhood park filled with new sights; sounds and people. Blending humor and whimsy; "Mindfulness at the Park" gently imparts ways to navigate the excitement and uncertainty of new experiences. Kids will delight in the adventures of Little Mouse and Mr. Opus; while adults will love watching children apply their new-found yoga and mindfulness skills to quiet their minds and manage stressful situations.
Reviews
Power’s delightful second Little Mouse Adventures picture book (after Yoga at the Zoo) brings Little Mouse and his best friend, Mr. Opus the cat, to the park with Tammy and her mom, the humans whom Mr. Opus lives with. Little Mouse and Mr. Opus have just learned some new yoga stretches with Tammy, the little girl Mr. Opus lives with, and her mom. They also learned about mindfulness, a way of staying calm and focused no matter what is going on around them. When they get to the park, they all practice together again. Little Mouse meditates so deeply that he doesn’t realize Mr. Opus and the family have left until he opens his eyes. But instead of panicking, he uses what he’s learned about mindfulness to stay calm and find them.

The witty writing and Allen's colorful, fun illustrations will entertain young readers as they teach the steps of calm breathing. Allen creates pretty, serene settings in the park and the family looks peaceful and happy. Young readers will giggle at the idea of Mr. Opus getting so relaxed he falls asleep on his face, and be relieved when Little Mouse and his new canine friend are reunited with their people. The pictures of Little Mouse and Mr. Opus practicing their breathing are charming and will keep children engaged.

Power’s simple steps for focusing on breathing and calming the mind are easy for young readers and their parents to practice together. As she leads readers through taking deep breaths in and out and counting to five, lovingly describing the family’s relaxation, both children and adults will find it easier to reach a more peaceful state of mind. This is an ideal read-aloud that will help readers of all ages find a few moments of calm in a stressful world.

Takeaway: At bedtime or anytime, this entertaining and calming lesson in mindfulness will help readers of all ages find a little peace of mind.

Great for fans of Gabi Garcia’s Find Your Calm, Michael Gordon’s I Am Mindful.

Production grades
Cover: A
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: A
Editing: A
Marketing copy: A

Formats
Hardcover Book Details
  • 09/2020
  • 9781734478600
  • 32 pages
  • $16.95

Loading...