Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Nuns with Guns
Seth Kaufman, author
“A smart, witty and engrossing satire! Kaufman is a wonderfully sharp-eyed observer of modern American lunacies.” —Zoë Heller, Notes on a Scandal Out-of-control producer Rick Salter wants to leave reality TV, get married and make movies. But it’s not easy. When a senseless murder touches his life, Rick enlists his pal Sister Rosemarie to make Nuns with Guns, a TV series about four sisters competing to collect the most firearms. Protests and death threats pile up as the nuns travel the country running gun exchanges. Propelled by the show’s spirited stars and crazy stunts — and the shadow of death that looms over every episode — the series becomes a smash hit. As Rick pushes the envelope, trying to save America from itself, a question emerges: Who will save Rick? Sure to appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen and Kurt Vonnegut — as well fans of Seth Kaufman’s acclaimed debut novel The King of Pain — this brutally funny book explores deadly national issues by deftly balancing satire with anxiety and insight. The result is a hilarious and harrowing must-read! “Kaufman’s humor and scope in Nuns with Guns is more vibrant than the pure satire ofThe King of Pain. He’s not making fun of America here so much as trying to improve it.”—Tom Rayfiel, In Pinelight
Reviews
This satirical follow-up to The King of Pain brings back Rick Salter, a salty, world-weary reality TV show producer looking to save face in the aftermath of his previous, much-maligned program, which involved torturing its contestants. Rick has just married his fourth wife, Marta, an undocumented immigrant who was his housekeeper for 21 years, and who saved him from an embarrassing “accident” involving a home entertainment system. When Marta’s sons, who own a taco restaurant, are targeted in a shooting, Rick is inspired to launch a reality show called Nuns with Guns. The premise: four nuns compete against one another to see which one can gather the most guns from American firearm owners. Rick becomes the unlikely voice of a televised revolution, as the nun posse, led by Sister Rosemarie, inspires hordes of Americans to relinquish their weapons. Gun enthusiasts and the NRA, meanwhile, incite an equally fervent backlash. Rick is a charismatic antihero bolstered by credible side characters, and in the midst of Kaufman’s sardonic humor, there rings out an earnest outcry for gun reform. (BookLife)

Loading...