Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Paperback Book Details
  • 07/2020
  • 9781644389430
  • 432 pages
  • $20.99
Paul Corson
Author
Regaining Paradise: Forming a New Worldview, Knowing God, and Journeying into Eternity
Paul Corson, author
The real genius of Paul Corson's approach is the overwhelming evidence he brings to the fore that the world around the reader repeats its patterns to echo their creator's mark. Humanity is thus part of the "cosmic beauty" that can be understood through reason and being unafraid to face our inner sameness with the stars and with each other. Over and over, Corson reminds us that we are surrounded by miracles every minute, but familiarity has Even veteran readers of spiritual literature will be delighted and enlightened by Regaining Paradise: Forming a New Worldview, Knowing God, and Journeying into Eternity, by Paul Corson, which celebrates both new and age-old wisdom. A dedicated researcher, Corson incorporates insights from many fields with his own out-of-body experiences to take the reader on a hero's journey in which doubts and fears are dragons to be slain in the quest for truth. Corson appeals to the thinker and the spectator of the marvelous, the spiritual, and the practical, ever-seeking and yet at peace. With dense, appealing prose, Corson quotes theoretical physicists, poets, philosophers, psychologists, and theists, orchestrating his cerebral symphony into a ground-breaking thesis that rewards careful and multiple readings. Unlike other spiritualists who decry science and eschew the most common of common sense, Corson embraces scientific evidence as the creator's handiwork even while showing the limits of science in appreciating the universe around and within us. For one example, Corson offers a sensible reconciliation of faith and evolution that is both simple and deep, noting that those who deny intelligent design and hold strictly to materialism are as entrenched in faith as the theists they scorn. With a sharp, almost painful clarity the reader will greatly appreciate, Corson discusses God as the ultimate poet, scientist, and source. Corson calls upon the reader to open their mind's eye to perceive new means of understanding that are at once both rational and miraculous. He promises, and delivers, that once readers allow themselves to overcome personal fears and doubts, they will see the truth of Paradise. A tall order indeed! The reader can feel, and share, Corson's joy and astonishment as he describes the details of his vision both visually and emotionally. The reader is challenged to believe in such a vision by the same author who has explained the nature of cosmic vibration and macro-genetic engineering. In unprecedented detail, Corson talks about being one with this vital force behind the physical world. Corson fulfills the promise of showing the same world around us but through new eyes, a "rewired" mind that can perceive reality in its fullness and boundary-free unity of light and the eternal mind-force. Then, with astonishing ease, Corson moves on to describe not just the unity of God, but the details of heaven. In the best possible sense, Corson calls on us to go down the proverbial rabbit hole of wonder and even bewilderment to find the bedrock of truth. Here we come face-to-face with the question of questions that is self-liberating: the very nature of a God, the infinite force that is its own explanation. Doing so takes the courage to face our deepest fears, particularly concerning death, to comprehend that the past, present, and future meet in an eternal endlessness. As such, fear is replaced by the glory of the world and of the many worlds behind this one. In this and many other ways, Corson's Regaining Paradise accomplishes many little miracles of its own. Citing Plato's Theory of Forms one moment, then Fritz-Albert Popp's experiments with electromagnetic radiation the next, contemplating the duality of the universe even as he espouses the need for empathy among humankind, Corson exposes us to a multi-universe of wonders indeed.
Reviews
Using an intriguing blend of hard science and spiritual belief, Corson challenges common assumptions about the incompatibility of faith and science in this follow-up to Touched By God: A Search For Higher Truth (2004). After numerous metaphysical experiences beginning when he was a child, he became convinced that there is a world beyond this one, and he sets out to prove it, in part through empirical science. His goal is more experiential than intellectual: he wants to help readers achieve “the state of Paradise that you experienced at birth” that will provide “the inner strength you need to work through these turbulent times and still feel joyful.”

Corson lays a solid foundation of scientific and philosophic principles on his way to trying to demonstrate the divine. His stirring, if decidedly offbeat, case for a higher being is underpinned with quotes and theories from a star-studded lineup of prominent scientists such as Albert Einstein and philosophers such as Plato and René Descartes. Even Nobel laureate Max Planck, the father of quantum mechanics, puts faith in the theory that science and spirit coincide, Corson argues, quoting Planck's assertion that “We must assume behind [the origination of matter] the existence of a conscious and intelligent mind.” He argues that science and religion support each other in a demonstration of how dualities pervade the universe, and says that humans ourselves embody duality, being “composed of both natural biological energy and energy of a higher realm.”

In an engaging and straightforward tone, Corson unapologetically writes with the courage of his convictions, realizing not all readers will agree with him. His strong belief that death of the body marks a point when readers will begin to experience the ecstatic “never-endingness of eternal time” will provide comfort to those brought up with fire-and-brimstone beliefs, and his logical analogies will help readers visualize complex concepts. Corson’s quiet eloquence will stick with readers and encourage them to see the harmony in different ways of trying to understand the puzzles of the universe.

Takeaway: Anyone who has wrestled with seeing religion and science in conflict will find comfort in Corson’s holistic perspective.

Great for fans of C.S. Lewis’s Mere Christianity and The Business of Heaven, Todd Burpo’s Heaven Is For Real, James Van Praagh’s Talking to Heaven.

Production grades
Cover: B
Design and typography: B+
Illustrations: -
Editing: B+
Marketing copy: B+

Formats
Paperback Book Details
  • 07/2020
  • 9781644389430
  • 432 pages
  • $20.99

Loading...