Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Paperback Book Details
  • 01/2020
  • 9781732755116
  • 148 pages
  • $12.95
Open Ebook Ebook Details
  • 01/2020
  • 9781732755123
  • 148 pages
  • $3.99
Marc Graham
Author
Runes for Writers: Boost Your Creativity and Destroy Writer's Block
Marc Graham, author
Tired of struggling with writer’s block? This rediscovered ancient system helps storytellers more easily access the realm of ideas, the world of the Muses, the Source of Story. By integrating left- and right-brain activity, you can open your awareness to the subconscious levels where true creativity takes place. Runes for Writers can take you from blocked to un-blocked. For good.
Reviews
Novelist Graham (Of Ashes and Dust) empowers stuck writers with this eclectic cross between a collection of story prompts and a New Age self-help book. Invoking the author as “a shaman, a wizard, a mage,” Graham focuses on breaking writer’s block and developing and fixing works of fiction through divination with Elder Futhark runes, which have their origins in second-century CE Scandinavia. Graham, observing that intuition is central to both writing and divination, suggests that the latter can inspire the former. After explaining the meanings of the symbols and how to apply them to storytelling, he ably leads readers through several rune-casting layouts (similar to tarot card spreads).

Graham counsels that this method is only for experienced writers, but anyone with an open mind can experiment with it, and Graham’s detailed layouts are well illustrated and easy to follow. He provides layouts designed for character development and story challenges, plot, theme, and escaping from writer’s block, among others. Each rune is given an open-ended interpretation (e.g., “Thurisaz reversed may also suggest that your character is not respecting boundaries of others”) that will easily get creative juices flowing. Graham also includes a short story that shows the process in action.

Graham maintains a sincere, empathetic tone throughout, treating the reader as a fellow traveler on the sometimes harrowing road of the creative process and encouraging a playful, flexible approach to rune-casting. At times he goes a bit overboard with his love of all things Norse (he’s unable to mention the concept of karma without calling it “an Indo-European cousin to the Norse mindset”) but his enthusiasm is endearing. This quirky and intriguing work will appeal to open-minded writers willing to look at their craft in a New Age light.

Takeaway: Fiction writers looking to engage their intuition will enjoy exploring this guide to story development through divination with runes.

Great for fans of Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way, Corrine Kenner’s Astrology for Writers.

Production grades
Cover: B+
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: B+
Editing: A
Marketing copy: B

Formats
Paperback Book Details
  • 01/2020
  • 9781732755116
  • 148 pages
  • $12.95
Open Ebook Ebook Details
  • 01/2020
  • 9781732755123
  • 148 pages
  • $3.99

Loading...