Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Kindle Edition eBooks Details
  • B01MUDRSND
  • pages
  • $
Silent Child

In the summer of 2006, Emma Price watched helplessly as her six-year-old son's red coat was fished out of the River Ouse. It was the tragic story of the year - a little boy, Aiden, wandered away from school during a terrible flood, fell into the river, and drowned.

 

His body was never recovered.

 

Ten years later, Emma has finally rediscovered the joy in life. She's married, pregnant, and in control again...

 

... until Aiden returns.

 

Too traumatized to speak, he raises endless questions and answers none. Only his body tells the story of his decade-long disappearance. The historic broken bones and injuries cast a mere glimpse into the horrors Aiden has experienced. Aiden never drowned. Aiden was taken.

 

As Emma attempts to reconnect with her now teenage son, she must unmask the monster who took him away from her. But who, in their tiny village, could be capable of such a crime? It's Aiden who has the answers, but he cannot tell the unspeakable.

 

This dark and disturbing psychological novel will appeal to fans of The Widow and The Butterfly Garden.

Reviews
Ignite Book Blog

Single mum Emma’s six year old boy, Aiden, went missing in a flood, presumed drowned. Seven years later he is declared legally dead. Emma later marries – not the father – and is heavily pregnant with a second child, when Aiden returns. He is under-weight for a sixteen year-old, has an old ankle injury, and seems in shock. He doesn’t, or can’t, speak. Yet Emma is determined to find out who took him and what happened to him in those missing years.

I’ve read lots of psychological thrillers and at times, they merge into one in the memory, but this book is different. I think I’ll be a long while thinking about it. Emma is in the throes of ‘baby brain’ and is very emotional, as you can imagine. She jumps from one suspect to another and we get sucked into her rationale for those suspicions, even though we can often feel she’s over-reacting. People try to lean on her and persuade that her son may be dangerous to the baby. The reader isn’t sure – doesn’t know any more than she does. The writing style is easy and elegant and I raced through this, dying to know the answers. A great example of the genre and highly recommended.
I received a review copy from TBC on Facebook.

Formats
Kindle Edition eBooks Details
  • B01MUDRSND
  • pages
  • $

Loading...