Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Hardcover Book Details
  • 10/2016
  • 0997792000
  • 138 pages
  • $19.95
Steve Reedy
Author
Tales for Your Monkey's Mind

Children/Young Adult; Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror; (Market)

Tales For Your Monkey's Mind is a collection of six illustrated short stories written in the vein of Shel Silverstein, Roald Dahl, and Dr. Seuss. Each story looks at the side effects of our social structure and how it affects children and adults. As a child, author Steve Michael Reedy was inspired by the children’s cartoons, movies, and books of the late 1960s and early 1970s, many of which had philosophical undertones. Later, after working as a counselor with children and adults, he decided to write a book about what he learned using a children’s fable format. He did this for two reasons. First, he believed that the information would be more interesting if written with witches, toy factories, magical storybooks, and rhyme. Second, it would be more fun to write.

The themes in Tales For Your Monkey’s Mind are multilayered, universal, and reflect the timeless issues that are always with us no matter what generation we may find ourselves in. Reedy wrote it as a means to create open conversations between adults and children. Talk Nerdy With Us says, “The charm in this book is that these life lessons are fleshed out in a manner that children will understand and adults will applaud.” A review from Clarion Reviews says it, “could prove to be one of those rare juvenile fiction books that survives adolescence to one day be read fondly by (or to) another generation.”

In the book Alex daydreams of working in the Wallerwood Toy Factory, and he sets off to learn the secrets kept hidden behind the factory’s front doors. Jessica wants to become the best clown that Clown Town has ever seen. Then she learns that being a clown is not as much fun as she thought. Angela worries about what will happen to her when she dies, until she discovers there are others things to think about instead. Andrew wants a magical storybook of his very own, but then he hears a story that may change his mind. Josh and Kalyn accidentally break a witch’s spell that was cast over the children of their town, and they set off on a journey tomake things right. Little Fey searches for something to make her happy one-day, but she realizes that her search is pushing her happiness further away.

In it’s first year of printing, Tales For Your Monkey’s Mind has won several book awards including the2016“Purple Dragonfly Award,” the 2016 “Moonbeam Children’s Book Award,” the 2015 “Book & Author”book of the year award, and aninternational book award for children’s fables from “Reader’s Favorite.”

Reviews
Lizzy Lewis, SAPERE (Society for the Advancement of Philosophical Enquiry and R

"I enjoyed the way it entwines dark, difficult issues with a sense of hope and optimism..., The resolutions are realistic and not too moralistic which is important when using story as a stimulus for creating philosophical questions. I think children will relate to, and empathise with, the feelings of puzzlement and discomfort that the characters experience and describe."

Clarion Review (Foreword Reviews)

Offers fables and fairy tales that are at once timeless and contemporary…, Reedy takes elements of classic storytelling, such as witches and magical storybooks, inserts clowns and a few other surprises, and makes all of these elements relevant to pre- and early teens, delivering stories in an often-rhyming text that is delightful to read…, a wonderful book for readers of any age...could prove to be one of those rare juvenile fiction books that survives adolescence to one day be read fondly by (or to) another generation.”  (5 out of 5 stars)

Readers' Favorite:

“The artwork is spot on for bringing these stories to life..., These are the highlight of the work..., A true win that parents can enjoy with their children and one that will help spread positive messages.”  (5 out of 5 stars)

SPF- Self Publishing Review

"Tales For Your Monkey's Mind by Steven Michael Reedy is a book of fables where everything is not always as it seems. Stories about toy factories, clowns, magical storybooks, witch's spells, and more each give a different moral about life and what's most important. Overall, it's an ambitious and imaginative work of children's fiction..., the book deftly manages to be two things at once: dark and fun. That's a very tough balance for a kid's book, but Reedy pulls it off. The book will lead to a lot of interesting discussions between parents and kids, as the morals in each tale are multi-layered. Definitely recommended for kids and adults alike." (4 out of 5 stars) 

The Children’s Book Review:

"Life is full of unexpected twists and turns and so is this book. Tales for Your Monkey’s Mind is sure to appeal to deep thinkers and philosophers, both young and old. What a nice reminder to keep in touch with one’s childhood and to keep a fresh mind…., Collectively the stories remind us to be true to ourselves, let go of perfection, and to live authentic lives."
 

Formats
Hardcover Book Details
  • 10/2016
  • 0997792000
  • 138 pages
  • $19.95

Loading...