Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 04/2018
  • B0798JJH35
  • 290 pages
  • $0.99
Liz Long
Author
The Blood King (The Brighton Duology Book 1)
Liz Long, author

Children/Young Adult; Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror; (Market)

From USA Today Bestselling Author Liz Long comes a new duology that “…belongs on the shelf with The Hunger Games and the Divergent Series.” 

When seventeen-year-old Reina is accepted to KEY, the King's Education for Youth, she knows she’ll have to hide her true identity, as same-sex relationships are strictly illegal under President-turned-King Magnus Brighton’s rule. What she couldn’t have anticipated was the King taking a personal interest in her, and his plan to have her marry his cruel son. When Reina discovers refusing the marriage means a punishment far worse than death, she also stumbles upon the reason King Magnus hasn’t aged in decades, and finds herself in the middle of a civil uprising.

Will she escape the King's wicked reign or will she be lost to Brighton's dark secrets?

In Brighton, blood means everything. Long live King Magnus.

Perfect for fans of The Darkest Minds, Divergent, and The Gender Game, The Blood King and The Golden City, the second book in the duology which comes out September 2018, will not disappoint!

Reviews
One Guy's Guide to Good Reads

A year ago you could have told me that dystopian was dead and I may have finally believed you. Every possible story I could think of had been told and honestly overdone. But then came the incredible Liz Long. With two wildly successful series now under her belt and completed, I have to say that although I was beyond excited for new words from Long, I was leery about those words being in the dystopian genre.

It may have taken some mental convincing, but by the end of chapter one, I was sold. Save a space on your shelves between The Hunger Games and Divergent, there's a new dystopian series ready to fill that spot! The Brighton Duology is shaping up to be Long's very best work to-date. It's fast-paced and an edge-of-your-seat thriller from the word go. This one is entirely binge-worthy and will leave you chomping at the bit for the series completion.

The plot is fresh with characters that really steal the show. Our MC Reina is a breath of fresh air to the YA world. Diverse and unique, I couldn't commend Long enough for writing characters that are reflective of today's society. That being said, this read does have some LGBT+ themes, however that is merely a disclaimer and in no way effected my views on the novel. In fact, if anything it made me appreciate it even more. Not only does Long write a great MC, she also gives us one of the most compelling villains I have seen in young adult literature in quite some time. King Magnus is as cunning as he is terrifying. His essence jumps right off the page and into your heart as you read the terrifying future he's created in Reina's world.

Don't write off dystopian quite yet, I highly recommend THE BLOOD KING to any reader of YA, dystopian, sci-fi, or really anyone looking for a read that's new and exciting to ad to your TBR. This is definitely something that'll leave you talking. Get ready for the greatest adventure with Liz Long yet. THE BLOOD KING is a bloody good read. FIVE STARS!

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 04/2018
  • B0798JJH35
  • 290 pages
  • $0.99

Loading...