Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Hardcover Details
  • 08/2018
  • 978-1-948825-00-9 1948825007
  • 360 pages
  • $29.95
Ebook Details
  • 08/2018
  • 978-1-948825-15-3 B07F5XTXL8
  • 345 pages
  • $4.95
The Ukinhan Wilds
To return a wayward princess to her royal father, a rogue bladesman must traverse a harrowing wilderness while hunted by a mutant creation descended from the ancient Mage Wars.
Reviews
Picking up shortly after the events of Thompson’s Legend of Asahiel Triology, this epic fantasy, first in the Warder trilogy, is jam-packed with action and adventure. Enjoying his newfound reputation as a teenage warrior and dragon-slayer, Kylac Kronus decides to travel in search of new horizons. He takes on a job helping to protect a rescued princess as she’s transported back to her homeland by a company of elite guards. The group is being stalked by a groll, a fiercely cunning shape-shifting monster, and only Kylac can meet the challenge with his blades and wits. After the company suffers a shipwreck, the survivors must trek through the perilous Ukinhan Wilds. But even if Kylac succeeds in bringing Princess Denariel home, they’re still not out of danger.

Kylac and companions undergo a harrowing journey, pursued by a relentless foe through a deadly landscape. Though Thompson maintains a high level of tension by subjecting his characters to creatively lethal dangers, readers don’t get much opportunity to bond with the cast, lessening the impact of the high body count and numerous sacrifices. Even Princess Denariel fails to shine, acting more as a grumpy plot device than a heroine in her own right.

Kylac, surprisingly mature and skilled for a 16-year-old, tests his limits in the course of his adventures. This entry is clearly meant to stand on its own and set up the rest of the trilogy, but its relationship to earlier installments reduces its accessibility, leaving readers wanting to know more about Kylac’s backstory. Late-in-the-game twists also take this tale in unexpected directions, giving the last quarter of the book a different feel. This fast-paced fantasy is a blood-soaked, no-holds-barred battle for survival that keeps its characters and readers guessing.

Takeaway: Fans of intense action and heroes facing impossible odds and terrifying foes will readily join teen warrior Kylac’s caravan through a perilous fantasy world.

Great for fans of Nicholas Eames’s Kings of the Wyld, Brent Weeks’s Night Angel trilogy, Joe Abercrombie’s First Law series.

Production grades
Cover: A
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: -
Editing: A
Marketing copy: B+

Thompson (The Sundered Isle) kicks off his Warder series with this adrenaline-charged fantasy adventure. While searching for a passage at sea, rogue swordsman Kylac Kronus chances upon a promising quest when he rescues sailor Sallun from a traitorous band of Addaran Shadowguards. In exchange for saving his life, Sallun introduces Kylac to his crew, who were tasked with finding and safely returning the abducted Princess Denariel to her father. Their captain, Ledron, taps Kylac to serve as their mission’s defense against an intelligent mutant called the Ukinh. They rescue the princess with little fuss, but their long sea voyage back to her kingdom brings them first to treacherous waters, then through the Ukinhan Wilds, the “homeland to the mutants.” And when they finally arrive in Denariel’s home kingdom, Kylac realizes that there is more to the story of her abduction than first meets the eye. Though the plot is electrifying, Kylac himself remains an enigma, which will frustrate some readers. Still, Thompson’s dense, atmospheric worldbuilding and cinematic fight scenes will keep the pages turning. Fantasy fans won’t want to put this down. (Self-published)
Formats
Hardcover Details
  • 08/2018
  • 978-1-948825-00-9 1948825007
  • 360 pages
  • $29.95
Ebook Details
  • 08/2018
  • 978-1-948825-15-3 B07F5XTXL8
  • 345 pages
  • $4.95

Loading...