Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Paperback Book Details
  • 09/2014
  • 9780988773738 0988773732
  • 366 pages
  • $13.95
Ebook Details
  • 09/2014
  • 978-0988773738 B00NCSAVYM
  • 366 pages
  • $2.99
Sol Smith
Author
Travels With Charlie
Sol Smith, author
A young couple sets out to discover the country in the pre-dawn of GPS navigation and instead discovers each other. In Travels with Charlie, William and Charlotte Stronghold quit their jobs and sell their belongings in order to set sail and find a new home somewhere between their native California and the green mountains of Vermont. Along the way, they fall in love and into hate with the popular culture that binds Americans together. The lines are blurred between shady roadside attractions and heralded national monuments, between the natural wonders of the country and the loud and annoying tourists who populate them, between the concepts of place and self. A head-on collision, a single burrito nearly a yard long, dead presidents, something that is probably a bear, and a Canadian sex club provide the backdrop for this story that is part romance story, part tall-tale, and part coming of age memoir. At times sweet and heartbreaking, almost always bitingly funny, Travels with Charlie is an American story about life on the road, in the tradition of Huck Finn, On the Road, and Steinbeck’s Travels with Charley.
Reviews
"Sol Food"--Amazon Reader

This book is a platter filled from a rich buffet, and Smith serves his reader a bite of everything: love, adventure, insight, skepticism, Hitler, hamburgers, and car tires... all seasoned with the youthful hope of a better life. Cleverly quotable, readily accessible, wholly enjoyable, "Travels with Charlie" is the story of the new great American honeymoon, told in a way you'll be happy to read.

Great Travel Read--Amazon Reader

This book checks a lot of boxes for me. It has a sarcastic, witty narrator, and a nice mix of funny and serious moments with large doses of uncertainty and optimism, which is kind of what one goes through stuck in a car traveling across America. I highly recommend reading this while on your own road trip, as I read it while driving through some of the same places Will and Charlie did, and it was a unique reading experience to see these spots on the page and in real life. I really love the relationship between Will and Charlie, and it was interesting to peak in at their story at such a formative, exciting time.

Read This Book!--Amazon Reader

Travels With Charlie is a way to travel across the country with a fresh outlook. I totally enjoyed riding with Will and Charlie on their honeymoon. The ups and downs of their cross country venture was interesting with humorous tidbits of information at every turn. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes information on travels across the country.

Wow

'Travels with Charlie' is so much more than just a travel book. Read it for the humor, read it for the travel savvy, read it for the love story, but definitely read it. Supremely entertaining, it held my attention from beginning to end. Sol Smith is the new literary voice of today.

Formats
Paperback Book Details
  • 09/2014
  • 9780988773738 0988773732
  • 366 pages
  • $13.95
Ebook Details
  • 09/2014
  • 978-0988773738 B00NCSAVYM
  • 366 pages
  • $2.99

Loading...