Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Paperback Book Details
  • 08/2018
  • 9781718091306
  • 362 pages
  • $13.99
Ebook Details
  • 08/2018
  • B07G8436BN
  • 362 pages
  • $1.99
Alex Norton
Author
Witchbone Book One: The Goblin's Winter
Alex Norton, author

Children/Young Adult; Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror; (Market)

A new paranormal adventure series for ages 10+, for fans of Stranger Things, Harry Potter, and Spiderwick

“A riveting great read and the first volume of author Alex Norton’s new ‘Witchbone’ series, “The Goblin’s Winter” showcases a master of the fantasy action/adventure novel who has a genuine flair for originality and a thoroughly reader engaging narrative storytelling style. Unreservedly recommended…” – Midwest Book Review

Eleven-year-old Danny Hallow accepts his life, such as it is. His father is dead, his mother is gone. His three Keepers are the only people aware of Danny’s erratic and not-very-impressive psychic powers. He has no friends, his room is disorganized and his grades are terrible.

When his uncle dies under mysterious circumstances Danny and his Keepers are called to the town of Eddystone for the reading of the man’s will, and everything begins to change for Danny.

Arriving at the crumbling estate of Gnomewood Home, he falls into the weird web of his ancestor’s secrets and begins to question everything he thought he knew. Disturbing memories come to him in dreams. His psychic abilities begin to grow stronger. Strangest of all, a horde of cryptic creatures is plaguing the town of Eddystone, seemingly drawn out by the spell of an unusually cold February. Toothy little goblins that are sneaky, vicious and hungry. Goblins that take an interest in Danny.

Will the emergence of the alien, and potentially dangerous, traits he’s inherited from his peculiar family tree help Danny survive a goblin-infested winter, attempts to befriend the town’s most feared bully, and the sixth grade?

Only if he learns to control them before they put him and everyone around him in danger. Before they convince some people he should never have been allowed to exist. Before he becomes just another twisted tale in his family’s bizarre history, kept hidden for centuries within the walls of Gnomewood Home.

Reviews
Midwest Book Review

A riveting great read and the first volume of author Alex Norton’s new ‘Witchbone’ series, “The Goblin’s Winter” showcases a master of the fantasy action/adventure novel who has a genuine flair for originality and a thoroughly reader engaging narrative storytelling style. While unreservedly recommended for school and community library YA Fiction and General Fantasy Fiction collections, it should be noted for personal reading lists that “The Goblin’s Winter” is also available in a digital book format. ~ Midwest Book Review

Reader's Favorite Book Review

What would you do if an uncle you never met, or at least you don’t remember meeting him, suddenly died and left you an incredible mansion full of fascinating and mysterious objects, hidden staircases and an abundance of rooms to explore? For eleven-year-old Danzellan Wildwood Hallow (or, as he prefers to be called, Danny), it’s like living in a fantasy home like the ones in the horror movies he loves to watch. But there are many secrets hidden in the house, secrets that involve the young boy and his heritage. His Keepers – that’s what he calls his Guardians, since his parents are long gone – have managed to keep the boy safe. Until now.

Alex Norton’s young people’s fantasy novel, The Goblin’s Winter: Witchbone Book One, has all the makings of an original Grimm’s fairy tale: magic, goblins, good and evil, an exciting plot complete with battle scenes and just enough bloodshed and gore to entice the young reader into the story. The list of characters certainly includes a number of unlikely heroes: Danny, the misfit at his old school; Ezra, the dirty, untrustworthy, shifty boy; Ellie, a sweet girl whose connection is vague until closer to the end; Church, short for Churchill, a skinny boy with freckles; and Unwen, a dark-skinned girl with a lot of courage. It seems unlikely for these five to come together, all being subjugated to scorn and ridicule for one reason or another. But they do. And what adventures they have.

Like any good, classic fairy tale, the plot unravels slowly, with the introduction of the scene – a bitterly cold winter in New Hampshire – and the characters. The mysteries and the secrets are revealed as needed, adding to the suspense and excitement of the plot. Although the story revolves mainly around the five children, there are a multitude of others that affect and challenge not only their existence but their right to be together. This is a powerful story, only the beginning of a series that will unravel more of the mysteries and secrets surrounding these children. A great read!

Formats
Paperback Book Details
  • 08/2018
  • 9781718091306
  • 362 pages
  • $13.99
Ebook Details
  • 08/2018
  • B07G8436BN
  • 362 pages
  • $1.99

Loading...