Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 11/2018
  • 978-1-64085-384-9 B07JYNJKGW
  • 204 pages
  • $6.99
Paperback Details
  • 11/2018
  • 978-1-64085-382-9 1640853820
  • 204 pages
  • $16.99
Hardcover Details
  • 11/2018
  • 978-1-64085-383-6 1640853839
  • 204 pages
  • $27.99
Donna Cowan
Author
With the Courage of a Mouse
Catt the cat wants a home, family, and friends she can count on…. Catt suddenly finds herself in Sweet Meadows—a long way from the alley she calls home. Catt discovers she can talk, but can’t decide if she’s dreaming…or dead. \t\t\t\t* * * Simon Cheddar is having the worst day ever! Instead of celebrating his first day at Superhero School, he’s on the breakfast menu twice! This was the beginning of his destiny, except the hawk considered him an easy meal. A quick snip and trim, changed that. Now a cat waited to pounce as well....not if Simon could stop it. With a quick plan and one matchstick, Simon sped toward certain death. Will Simon arrive in time for Superhero School? \t\t\t\t* * * Find out and join Simon, Catt, and the entire Superhero School gang for their first adventure, With the Courage of a Mouse, The Superhero School series, book one.
Reviews
Sager Cowan’s twisty middle grade debut features unexpected friendships and a delightful mix of mystery and adventure. Simon Cheddar, a quick-thinking, resourceful mouse, is escaping from a hawk when he runs into Catt, a skittish cat who’s been abandoned by her humans. Impulsively, Simon invites Catt to join him on his first day at Superhero School, a class for young animals who want to be heroes. Catt and Simon quickly become best friends, and Simon cautiously introduces her to his friends and family in hidden Mouseville. Everything is going well until other cats attack Mouseville. The mice blame Catt and banish Simon, who sets out to prove his friend’s innocence.

Economic anxiety drives the story. Catt is traumatized by life as a starving alley cat, impoverished city mouse Ricky despises and envies the “soft” country mice of Mouseville, and meerkat butler Nigel longs to be his own boss. It’s not clear why this anthropomorphic paradise is so riddled with inequality and privation. No one questions the school’s peculiar policy barring orphans from attending, even when it puts Catt—who “refused to be property again”—in an impossible quandary: allow a cat she doesn't know to become her adoptive parent, or give up on school and live on the street. Homelessness is treated as a plot point, not a societal ill. Given the constant mentions of wealth and poverty, the lack of analysis beyond compassion being good and greed being bad feels like an oversight.

Sager Cowan makes the many characters distinct, aided by Reid’s sometimes clumsy but colorful illustrations. Superhero School classmates Patty Porter, a tech-savvy pig, and Freddy Flickerson, an agile frog, help Simon crack the case. Without pontificating, Sager Cowan clearly teaches readers about accepting and trusting others who come from different backgrounds. This series starter is filled with mystery and a lot of heart.

Takeaway: Tween readers will enjoy this warm-hearted mystery’s memorable animal characters and imaginative setting.

Great for fans of Gigi Priebe and Daniel Duncan’s Adventures of Henry Whiskers series.

Production grades
Cover: B
Design and typography: A-
Illustrations: B
Editing: A-
Marketing copy: B+

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2614546548

Want to Read

With the Courage of a Mouse (Superhero School #1) 
by

Donna Sager Cowan (Goodreads Author), 

 

Diane J. Reid (Illustrator )

 
Laura Knight's review 

Dec 03, 2018

 

it was amazing

 

"With the Courage of a Mouse" is an adventurous tale, that has relatable voices for children to connect themes of courage, and friendship to their own life. Facing the consequences of your actions is also an important lesson. It is a descriptive story with VERY funny dialogue, and a great use of vocabulary throughout. The unlikely friendship between "Catt" and Mouse, and a cast of other animal characters going to Super Hero School is sure to keep the reader on their toes! Each chapter has 1 simple illustration that adds to this imaginative plot. This chapter book is cleverly written and is appropriate for readers 4th grade and on. The book has 35 chapters, so it may take while to read depending on one's reading level but you will be entertained by the main character, Simon Cheddar, his world, and the adorable visuals incorporated into the book. I give it 5 stars!

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/3218610129

 

With the Courage of a Mouse (Superhero School #1)

by Donna Sager Cowan (Goodreads Author)

 

Want to Read

With the Courage of a Mouse by Donna Sager Cowan is a beautifully illustrated Kids book that is also good for read aloud to those who cannot read The pictures and the cover too is a visual delight 

The story is about friendship loyalty and belief in your friend even if the odds are against and helping in times of trouble and also teaches everyone to look past the physical appearance and diversity into the heart of the person or animal and also that anyone can be a superhero. 

The story is about Simon Cheddar a courageous and intelligent mouse who aspires to be a superhero despite his size who befriends a cat despite their differences and ages old enmity between the two h kinds and how they help each other and also others and become superheroes. It is a lovely story

I had already read and loved the 2nd part "With the Curiosity of a cat" and so was interested in this book.

A must read .

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 11/2018
  • 978-1-64085-384-9 B07JYNJKGW
  • 204 pages
  • $6.99
Paperback Details
  • 11/2018
  • 978-1-64085-382-9 1640853820
  • 204 pages
  • $16.99
Hardcover Details
  • 11/2018
  • 978-1-64085-383-6 1640853839
  • 204 pages
  • $27.99

Loading...