Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

To Dance in the Glen
Michelle Deerwester-Dalrymple. Michelle Deerwester-Dalrymple, $12.99 trade paperback (278p) ISBN 978-0-359-05246-2
Deerwester-Dalrymple debuts with a pleasant, if conventional, tale of love and war in 14th-century Scotland, the first in her Glen Highland Romance series. When Meg Lachlan, a poor but courageous crofter’s daughter, is harassed by a gang of marauding Englishmen, she’s grateful to be rescued by several young Scotsmen. Then she learns that one of her rescuers is Ewan MacLeod, son of the local laird. Meg knows Ewan’s reputation for seduction and makes it clear she intends to maintain her virtue. But Ewan, whose mother was raped and murdered by the English, feels responsible for Meg’s safety and, despite their differing social ranks, soon falls in love. Unbeknownst to both of them, the English are blackmailing Meg’s father for the coastal access afforded by the MacLeods’ otherwise modest lands. Ewan and Meg marry, throwing Meg into grave danger as the English view her as a useful tool to manipulate the MacLeods. When Meg is inevitably kidnapped, Ewan must save his new wife and, in the process, avenge his mother. Though the plot is pedestrian and the language often anachronistic (“Can’t ye shut up and let me think?”), Meg and Ewan make an appealing couple. Fans of May McGoldrick and Amanda Scott will enjoy this entertaining Highland romance. (Self-published)

Reviewed by Publishers Weekly on 03/27/2020

Release date 09/01/2018

Loading...