Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Paperback Book Details
  • 02/2020
  • 9780963679482 B084S6WXYP
  • 240 pages
  • $14.99
Angelus Rose: As Above, So Below: Book 2
Loren Rhoads, author

Adult; Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror; (Market)

If Romeo had wings and Juliet a barbed tail, could they find happiness in the City of Angels? After their escape from the ashes of Lost Angels, the succubus Lorelei and the angel Azaziel want nothing more than to enjoy each other's company. Unfortunately, Asmodeus, the Demon Prince of LA, has threatened to devour Lorelei's new-grown soul if she doesn't bring about Azaziel's downfall. Meanwhile, Aza is keeping secrets of his own that threaten the tenuous peace between Heaven and Hell. Three archangels come to town to try to set things right, but friendships are fracturing. The demon in charge of fallen angels is sniffing around. And Los Angeles is about to be caught between a devil and the deep blue sea.
Reviews
In this well-constructed sequel to 2016’s Lost Angels, Rhoads and Thomas further develop the cosmology and complexity of their present-day setting, which digs into a variety of Christian theological traditions to form the framework of an ambitious urban fantasy story. The angel Azaziel and the succubus Lorelei may have fallen in love, but they’re still subject to the whims and commands of their respective superiors in heaven and hell, with Los Angeles as the current battleground. When Lorelei discovers Aza is hiding a secret that might tip the balance of power in the city, it places their fragile relationship in jeopardy and prompts both sides to ramp up their presence in preparation for a major battle.

This volume is accessible to new readers, but a familiarity with the first one is highly recommended. The romance between Aza and Lorelei carries much of the tale, but the erotic elements can feel pedestrian, and one scene of sexual body horror is likely to upset more sensitive readers. The story's real focus is on the sprawling cast of divine, infernal, and mortal characters who currently inhabit Los Angeles. Frequent perspective shifts occasionally make it difficult to keep track of the big picture, especially as characters switch allegiances. With such a large cast, it’s inevitable that some get less time to shine, and their ultimate fates don’t resonate as well as they should.

Rhoads and Thomas craft a plausible romance for the angel and succubus without betraying their inherent natures; readers won’t forget that Lorelei is an inherently infernal creature with undeniable carnal needs who serves truly evil masters. Vivid prose (“she felt the portal’s heat crawl over her skin like a thousand cockroaches”) keeps the reader immersed. The authors keep the personal stakes balanced against the larger conflict at hand, which builds slowly to a violent resolution that sets things up nicely for further installments.

Takeaway: This crossover between urban fantasy and paranormal romance will satisfy fans of star-crossed lovers, epic conflict, and dark, complex stories.

Great for fans of Richelle Mead’s Succubus Blues, Isadora Brown’s Awaken, Jillian Cooper’s The Devil’s Daughter.

Production grades
Cover: A
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: -
Editing: A
Marketing copy: A

News
07/20/2020
Book trailer for Lost Angels/Angelus Rose

Here's a book trailer to celebrate the two books in the As Above, So Below series, Lost Angels and its sequel, Angelus Rose.

Formats
Paperback Book Details
  • 02/2020
  • 9780963679482 B084S6WXYP
  • 240 pages
  • $14.99

Loading...