Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 06/2020
  • 0997091940 B08C2MZPD3
  • 478 pages
  • $3.99
Bishop's Law
In his debut novel, Bishop’s War, author Rafael Amadeus Hines delivered a knock-out punch! The international bestselling action-thriller introduced us to former US Special Forces Sgt. John Bishop, his Spec Ops team, and John’s crime boss uncle, Gonzalo Valdez, as they united to take on terrorists, contract killers, a psychotic billionaire, and Afghan warlords. In the eagerly anticipated sequel, Bishop’s Law, the nonstop action continues with Bishop and his team battling against ISIS terror cells, a family of Pakistani assassins and the Russian mob. Hang on for an action-packed and suspense-filled thrill ride! Once again—not for the faint-hearted.

Quarter Finalist

Plot/Idea: 10 out of 10
Originality: 10 out of 10
Prose: 10 out of 10
Character/Execution: 10 out of 10
Overall: 10.00 out of 10

Assessment:

Plot: The plot is a thrilling read that transcends the clichés of the war-fiction genre. There are several plotlines in this book that, at times, seem excessive and overwhelming. However, the author manages to synergetically braid them for a final crescendo that leaves readers wanting more.

Prose/Style: The author delivers an exciting page-turner with clear and purposeful writing, masterfully avoiding over-complication and jargon. The wording is often blunt and works well for this type of narrative.

Originality: The plot is certainly original and fine-tuned, giving a hint to the author's research efforts. The subplots mirror real-world events without becoming predictable and formulaic.

Character/Execution: The book does not subscribe to a black-and-white definition of good and evil character traits, and this shows in how the characters are written. They exhibit a complex spectrum of personalities that lend further credibility to the development of the plot.

Date Submitted: July 28, 2020

Reviews
This heart-pounding sequel to Bishop’s War is a wild ride from start to finish. Jamaican-Panamanian American war hero John Bishop, newly retired from the military, is wrestling with the loss of his Uncle Sesa, the betrayal of his Uncle Nestor, and the efforts of his Uncle Gonzalo to turn the Valdez crime family completely legitimate. Bishop finds his retirement short-lived after the president asks him to assemble a team to stop ISIS from attacking New York City. Pivoting between New York’s Lower East Side and the ever-changing location of an ISIS terrorist cell, the novel forces its protagonist to choose among family, love, and duty.

Thrill-seekers will love Hines’s quick-paced dialogue and action scenes, though readers more interested in the relationships and motivations that keep the plot moving may be disappointed. The primary motivation for killing in this book is revenge, and though Hines contextualizes well for readers who missed Bishop’s War, the countless revenge killings in this installment may bewilder new and returning readers alike. Similarly, a major decision made by John’s wife, Maria, doesn’t make sense given what readers know of her character, leading to confusion that undermines the shock of the twist. With six different plot lines, it’s frustrating to have much of the story left to be resolved in a future book.

Where Bishop’s second outing succeeds is in being informative as well as entertaining. Hines breaks down military lingo for the uninitiated and shines a light on bigotry and corruption in both the U.S. Armed Forces and the government. His hero operates under a strict code of honor and sees the potential in all people to help save the day, whether they’re reformed assassins, hardened ex-cons, or simply the newest members of his team. Bishop is a war hero for the 21st century, and thriller fans will enjoy his bloody quest to save the day.

Takeaway: This exhilarating and violent thriller will please readers looking for non-stop action and a tough, honorable protagonist of color.

Great for fans of Walter Mosley, Danny Gardner, Lee Child.

Production grades
Cover: A-
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: -
Editing: A-
Marketing copy: B

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 06/2020
  • 0997091940 B08C2MZPD3
  • 478 pages
  • $3.99

Loading...