Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 06/2020
  • B089T64J9R
  • 185 pages
  • $3.99
Paperback Details
  • 06/2020
  • 978-1-953645-00-5
  • 236 pages
  • $9.99
Paperback Details
  • 06/2020
  • 979-8648447448 B089M54XJT
  • 236 pages
  • $9.99
Don Jones
Author
Daniel Scratch
Don Jones, author
Thirteen year-old Daniel Scratch has been living along for years since his parents passed, cared for by his home's tiny, elf-like brownies and his somehow-still-living great-great grandmother. But when Grandmother sends him to the village to be Tested, his life turns upside down. He's abandoned on a craggy isle, home to the Tower of Endings, and discovers he's to be the next adherent to the Sixth Axis, one of the most powerful magical forces in the world. He lives in the Tower for years, learning all the basic magics of witchkind along with the great Seven Forms of his Axis. Along the way, learns more than he ever thought possible about his people and their society, and their relationships with the far more-numerous humans of the world. His education culminates with an irreversible Choice, thrusting him into a mystery whose resolution will save all of humanity and witchkind – or doom them all to chaos and oblivion.
Reviews
Jones’s languorous, meditative epic fantasy follows its titular character, Daniel Scratch, an orphaned teenager descended from powerful witches. At age 13, Daniel is sent to pursue his magical education in a fantastical tower, alone but for his friend and mentor, Kirmin. Daniel is studying to be the adherent of the Axis of Endings, one of the world’s great magics. This affords him control over endings big and small, from lifestyles to lives. The rest of witchkind binds Daniel to the tower, hoping that doing so will bind death. Once Daniel becomes an adherent and is able to send his spirit beyond the tower, he uncovers a horrible crime that shines a light on his complicated family history and tests his new abilities.

The gothic setting is rich in detail: magical bureaucracy and legality, Lithuanian spell words, peculiar artifacts, taciturn ghosts. It creates a compelling backdrop for Daniel’s development, in the process emphasizing his loneliness and isolation. His parents didn’t teach him many things they should have, his undead grandmother is cryptic, and he struggles to catch up with what the rest of witchkind already knows, all while developing control of immense magics. Romance, friendship, and family are absent from his life; even among his fellow adherents, Daniel stands alone.

Jones does an admirable job of describing the perils and pitfalls of power in this captivating story. At one point, Daniel considers using his abilities to end an argument, only to reflect that conflict can have a purpose and should be resolved naturally. The true meaning of ending is explored and expounded, stressing the importance of free thinking through viewing the challenges and experiences of the main characters. These ruminations, and the sections detailing Daniel’s education, are at times exposition-heavy, but this work is generally best suited to readers who enjoy slow immersion in rich prose. Adult and teenage fans of thoughtful fantasy will love exploring this beautifully described world of arcane powers.

Takeaway: This meditative look at power will engage readers who like their fantasy with a side of philosophy.

Great for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin’s A Wizard of Earthsea, Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book.

Production grades
Cover: B+
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: -
Editing: B
Marketing copy: B+

News
07/01/2020
Witchkind.com Launches with Free Short Stories and More

Fans of Daniel Scratch: a story of witchkind and its sequels will wanrt to hurry over to Witchkind.com, the Oculus into the world of witchkind. Offering free short stories, a wiki (including a world map), and more, it's a destination for everything this incredibly deep universe has to offer.

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 06/2020
  • B089T64J9R
  • 185 pages
  • $3.99
Paperback Details
  • 06/2020
  • 978-1-953645-00-5
  • 236 pages
  • $9.99
Paperback Details
  • 06/2020
  • 979-8648447448 B089M54XJT
  • 236 pages
  • $9.99

Loading...