Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Paperback Book Details
  • 12/2020
  • 9781735489100
  • 269 pages
  • $16.99
Ebook Details
  • 12/2020
  • 9781735489124 B08JJX2NLB
  • 269 pages
  • $3.99
Double Vision
Hamelin Bird, author

Adult; Mystery/Thriller; (Market)

 

For fans of Stephen King, Michael Koryta, and Lawrence Block, Hamelin Bird delivers a stunning debut. In this haunting new horror thriller featuring a down-and-out detective, solving the case of a lifetime and tracking down a dangerous killer is only half of the story.

Former detective Michael Lunsmann is about to lose everything. Still in love with his ex-wife, estranged from his teenage son, and now fresh off the wagon once again, rock bottom has never felt closer. But things are about to get worse. Following another Father’s Day disaster with his son, Lunsmann wakes from a drinking binge with a bullet in his arm and no earthly idea how it got there. That same night, four teens go missing and are later found dead, brutally murdered by a madman.

Drawn into the investigation, Lunsmann launches an effort to catch the killer. But to repair the damage to his family, he’ll have to confront his own demons. When the most unlikely detective becomes the only man to crack the case, dark and sinister forces will stop at nothing to prevent the truth from surfacing.

A supernatural thriller and compelling meditation on addiction and fatherhood, Double Vision is a gripping story that will keep readers turning pages late into the night.

Plot/Idea: 8 out of 10
Originality: 7 out of 10
Prose: 10 out of 10
Character/Execution: 10 out of 10
Overall: 8.75 out of 10

Assessment:

Plot: Former detective Mike Lunsmann is an alcoholic on the brink; as his life crashes around him, he is confronted by a mystery in the Harlow Boonies that causes him to question his own reality. Double Vision features an engaging plot that touches on the supernatural, the nature of evil, and the often tenuous relationships of fathers and sons.

Prose/Style: Bird's prose is clever, well-written, and elegiac at times as his characters often ponder their own broken lives and inner demons. It is only near the end of the story that the supernatural comes fully into view, awakening the reader to the clever duality throughout the story.

Originality: While stories about broken-down alcoholic cops are a dime a dozen, what makes this story stand apart is its well-developed and likable, albeit flawed, characters. Fathers and sons, "scars that never heal," and the insidiousness of the past cleverly combine to form an enjoyable tale where a man hell-bent on revenge lives in a house on the threshold of worlds.

Character Development/Execution: Bird paints a vivid picture of all his characters, from the main characters like Dougie, Mike, and Saul Jessup, to the one's on the periphery like Ryan Mills and Natalie Hollister. The characters are definitely the backbone of the story; their flaws and introspections make them both realistic and sympathetic, while also making this story a joy to read.

Date Submitted: April 03, 2021

Reviews
Bird’s creepy, nightmarish debut finds former police detective Michael Lunsmann undergoing a midlife crisis. A few years earlier, his career was derailed after his wife divorced him, and he asked to be demoted to patrol. Now, he’s an overweight alcoholic, plagued with guilt about his lack of a relationship with his 15-year-old son, Doug. After another failed attempt at connecting with Doug, Lunsmann awakes in a hospital bed, only to learn that he almost bled to death after being shot. He has no recollection of what happened, a memory gap that feels ominous when he learns that several teens who recently went camping have vanished, and he fears his shooting is connected with their disappearance. When Lunsmann later investigates, he discovers that almost 60 people have disappeared in the surrounding area over the past decade without explanation, and that what happened to the teens may have involved a breach of “some unseen boundary between this world and the next.” Bird keeps readers off-balance as he builds toward a satisfying conclusion. Fans of thrillers with a supernatural tinge will be pleased. (Self-published)
Formats
Paperback Book Details
  • 12/2020
  • 9781735489100
  • 269 pages
  • $16.99
Ebook Details
  • 12/2020
  • 9781735489124 B08JJX2NLB
  • 269 pages
  • $3.99

Loading...