Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 06/2018
  • 978-1-7324083-0-2 B07DBF8P61
  • 500 pages
  • $5.99
Paperback Details
  • 06/2018
  • 978-1-7324083-1-9
  • 500 pages
  • $16.99
Hardcover Details
  • 06/2018
  • 978-1732408326
  • 502 pages
  • $24.99
Lee Rice
Author
Eve of Snows: Sundering the Gods Book One

Adult; Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror; (Market)

Five hundred years ago the world shattered, banishing the gods from the Sister Continents. In seventeen days a religious cabal will summon the gods back to the realms of men. 

In the northern tundra priests search the Steaming Lakes, a place tormented by the Wakened Dead. Deep in the mountains, demonic shadows assail priests at a holy shrine. In the south, the clans know something foul is afoot, and dispatch warriors to seek answers, but instead they find horrors.

A young priestess named Eliles stands in the heart of this conspiracy, on her shoulders rest decisions which could prevent a holy war or demonic genocide. Through lies, manipulation, and murder, everyone is on a seventeen day march to fulfill or defy prophecy; the world will end or begin anew, come the Eve of Snows.

Reviews
It’s been centuries since the gods were sundered from the world, but now a sect of priests plans to bring them back in Rice’s gripping epic fantasy debut. When violent shadows escape from a hidden shrine, warrior monk Tokodin flees toward Istinjoln Monastery, only to be captured by the primitive, bearlike Colok people. Eliles, a postulant with a secret, faces her final trial before achieving priesthood. Ivin, pious nephew of Clan Choerkin’s lord, seeks aid after a mine collapse. Meris, a 95-year-old oracular priestess, is sent on a baffling errand. Sailor Solineus washes ashore with holes in his memory. All their paths lead to Istinjoln, where time is running out. In 17 days, the stars will align and the sect will summon the gods.

Rice handles a large cast of characters with the skill and flair of a fire juggler. The romance between Eliles and Ivin feels a little obligatory and contrived, but notes such as Eliles’s tender relationship with her mentor, Tokodin’s jealousy of his betters, and Ivin’s commanding officer occasionally feeding him jerky to politely silence him all round out the characters with believable personalities and motivations. There’s a fun element of tension through the middle as the characters first meet one another or narrowly miss introductions.

Gripping action scenes, evocative writing, and steady story momentum make the pages fly. The shadows bring a genuine chill with every appearance. The mystery surrounding the banished gods sparks curiosity, and Rice draws a fine line between feral magic and answered prayers. The plot is marked with plenty of surprising twists as Eliles and Ivin confront shadows and the conspiracy within Istinjoln. There is a solid conclusion, but Rice leaves enough unanswered questions and ambiguity to have readers theorizing possibilities and itching for the next installment. This extremely impressive series launch is guaranteed to earn die-hard fans.

Takeaway: The high-stakes plot, fast pacing, and convincing characters will hook epic fantasy readers on this impressive debut.

Great for fans of George R.R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series, R. Scott Bakker’s Prince of Nothing series.

Production grades
Cover: A
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: -
Editing: A
Marketing copy: A-

Kirkus Reviews

Though the novel is dense in plot and characters, debut novelist Rice maintains a surprisingly sharp focus… The final act boosts the action, introduces menaces, and involves a few shocking revelations… Brimming with well-defined details and characters; augmented by bountiful enthusiasm and spirit. – Kirkus Reviews

News
12/25/2019
The Grand Prize goes to Eve of Snows!

A Christmas day announcement!

Eve of Snows: Winner of the 2019 Epic Fantasy Fanatics Readers Choice Award.

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 06/2018
  • 978-1-7324083-0-2 B07DBF8P61
  • 500 pages
  • $5.99
Paperback Details
  • 06/2018
  • 978-1-7324083-1-9
  • 500 pages
  • $16.99
Hardcover Details
  • 06/2018
  • 978-1732408326
  • 502 pages
  • $24.99

Loading...