Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Kindle Edition Digital Ebook Purchas Details
  • B0BC6LPG55
  • pages
  • $
Stacy Von Haegert
Author
Forged of Fire: A New Adult Fantasy (The Forged Series Book 1)
On Goodreads' "Best New Adult and Fantasy Romance" and "Books that Deserve to be on Film" lists "Buckle up! This is the beginning of a new hit series..." - S.J. Pierce, International Bestselling Author Legends are not born. They are forged of fire... Long revered as one of the realm's most lethal warriors, Ashdon LaGoryen now prefers a solitary life. Far removed from his volatile past, he has no interest in returning to the station of his royal birth. But when an ancient prophecy comes to light at the onset of war, he finds himself reluctantly dragged back into the world of his ancestral bloodline - House of the Dragon. Twenty-one-year-old Kielyn Allister just wants to finish art school, but when she is threatened on campus one night, all her plans go up in smoke. Literally. She wakes to find herself surrounded by creatures found only in storybooks. And the most dangerous of them all, an alluring vampire with the ability to control fire, is to be her new teacher. Her king. And her mate... As Kielyn and Ashdon adapt to their new roles, their feelings toward each other grow from begrudging obligation to scorching passion. But there are more sinister forces at play, and an ancient legend seeks to divide them. They must risk everything if their love and the realms - human and immortal alike - are to survive. Fans of ACOTAR, From Blood and Ash, and Shadow and Bone will relish this fated mates fantasy with a morally grey hero, multiple realms, and vampires, dragons, fae, angels, and elementals by International Bestselling Author Stacy Von Haegert.
Reviews
Von Haegert follows up the White Rose trilogy of historical romances with this passionate urban fantasy, the kickoff to a steamy and bloody urban fantasy series in which a brace of immortals—oracles, angles, vampires, wielders of elemental magics—upend the life of a mortal New Orleans college student who is fated to bear the child with the power to rule every supernatural and mortal realm. But the student, the gorgeous-but-not-quite-aware-of-it redhead Kielyn, knows none of this, not even that it was her own suppressed elemental powers that saved her from a trio of rapists—“barbecued” them, as Von Haegert puts it. Ancient fire dancer and reluctant potential ruler Ashdon LaGoryen, who believes he could never love a mortal but feels enticed by Kielyn anyway, must teach Kielyn who she truly is, as the vampire horde of Dante hunts her.

Von Haegert builds her story around compelling characters with complex, often conflicting motives, with lust and love scorching through their veins. Ashdon stands as a grand creation, a Mazerati-driving immortal who refuses a kingship and whose voice purrs like “the sound like velvet over steel.” Kielyn, meanwhile, spends much of the book’s first third observed at a distance or unconscious. But soon she’s commanding, making bold choices—including participation in a blood ritual that showcases the book’s strengths: it’s dark, sexy, dangerous, epic.

At times the prose can edge toward the florid, especially in scene-setting descriptive passages, but the action zips along, the dialogue is sharp and often funny—warned that a ghost will haunt him if he takes a decisive action, Ashdon snaps “As long as your ghost wears deodorant.” Scenes involving blood, sex, magic, and power all pulse with welcome vigor. The story is sweeping, but Von Haegert keeps the scheming, betrayals, and varied magic sets clear and engaging, right up to climactic revelations that promise even more magical beasts in the follow-up.

Takeaway: This steamy fantasy thrusts a mortal woman into war among vampires, angels, and more.

Great for fans of: Sarah J. Maas, Leigh Bardugo.

Production grades
Cover: A
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: N/A
Editing: A-
Marketing copy: A

Formats
Kindle Edition Digital Ebook Purchas Details
  • B0BC6LPG55
  • pages
  • $

Loading...