Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Kindle Edition eBooks Details
  • 12/2019
  • B082H4WZKK
  • 357 pages
  • $2,99
Freydis (Daughters of Freya Book 1)

Adult; General Fiction (including literary and historical); (Market)

Freydis Eiriksdatter is one of the most remarkable women of the Viking age. She leads a harsh life amid the towering cliffs and great glaciers in the heart of a Greenland fjord. Freydis has inherited the warrior spirit of her father, Eirik the Red, and follows in the footsteps of her brother Leif to Vinland, the promised land. Christianity makes inroads into her beloved Greenland, but Freydis continues to worship the old Norse gods, and to live her life as she pleases. But one day she is summoned by the mysterious volva, Torbjorg. Fiery passion, perilous voyages and powerful history. This book has it all.
Reviews
Norwegian author and journalist Haugnes (Daughters of Norway) delivers a historical tour de force with this irresistible Middle Ages romantic saga that spans nearly a century. Adventurous and fiery Freydis Eiriksdatter doesn’t accept the limitations placed on women in Greenland in the 1000s. Like her father, Eirik the Red, Viking chief of Greenland, Freydis longs to discover and explore new lands. She’s also not averse to exploring other experiences, and sleeps with whom she wants when she wants. She eventually gives birth to two sons—neither one fathered by her husband, the long-suffering Torvard Einarsson, whom she’s fond of but doesn’t love. At last she persuades him to bring her to the new land, called Vinland, discovered by her brother Leif—but nothing can still her restless spirit.

Haugnes has obviously done extensive research on the Vikings, and she doesn’t skimp on the gory realities of living in the Middle Ages. There are bloody battles (which quite literally send heads flying), voyages full of raping and pillaging, and frequent deaths: Freydis loses a beloved brother in battle and her newborn second son to the sea during a violent storm. Haugnes also ably portrays the dissent fomented when Christianity was first introduced to the Viking population.

As Haugnes ably spins her tale, she paints vivid word pictures (“the murmur from the mountains sounds like harp music, the stream gurgles merrily and the wind sings along”) that easily transport readers to the Greenland of more than 1,000 years ago. The scenes of passion are vivid and erotic. Readers who enjoy Norse mythology, strong heroines, and romantic passion won’t be able to put down this delightful, fast-paced story.

Takeaway: This impeccably researched and expertly plotted tale will give fans of Viking sagas a vibrant heroine to love.

Great for fans of Morgan Llywelyn’s Grania: She-King of the Irish Seas, Catherine Coulter’s Season of the Sun.

Production grades
Cover: A
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: -
Editing: A
Marketing copy: B+

Formats
Kindle Edition eBooks Details
  • 12/2019
  • B082H4WZKK
  • 357 pages
  • $2,99

Loading...