Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Paperback Details
  • 09/2021
  • 978-1-7366371-1-1
  • 354 pages
  • $14.99
Ebook Details
  • 09/2021
  • 978-1-7366371-0-4
  • 354 pages
  • $6.99
Paulette Stout
Author
Love, Only Better

Adult; General Fiction (including literary and historical); (Market)

IN A BOLD AND EMPOWERING NOVEL ABOUT A VERY REAL ISSUE, PAULETTE STOUT INTRODUCES AN ADORABLE GAL WITH AN INTIMATE SECRET.

For Rebecca, sex is a joke missing a punchline. No crashing waves. Only pangs of inadequacy. At twenty-eight, shouldn’t she have had one by now? Her snickering ex thought so. His taunts echo in her ears as he rolls out of her bed. Then out of her life.


Lost, Rebecca seeks expert help, joining a study for women who can’t “finish” in the bedroom. There is such a thing? It’s unconventional, for sure, but she’s desperate for answers. The no-sex mandate is a no brainer. Who’d want to be with her anyway?

Then Kyle moves in. Her blue-eyed, black motorcycle-riding dream of a neighbor lives a heartbeat away. Sparks flew immediately. But could the timing be any worse?

If he learns her secret, she’ll lose her best chance at love. But if her lessons fail, she’ll be left eternally broken. Unlovable.

What started as a search for fulfillment, has suddenly become a quest for something far greater.

Love, Only Better is an intimate quest full of heart, blending a fun next-door romance with steamy dates-for-one. Perfect for fans of Helen Hoang (The Kiss Quotient), Jennifer Weiner (Good In Bed), Jojo Moyes and fans of women's fiction full of wit, spice and soul. Buy it now!

PRAISE FOR LOVE, ONLY BETTER

  • “I loved the feminism and the overdue mentions of women's basic needs. I definitely recommend this book.” (NetGalley)
  • “If you’re looking for a book with its heart open just waiting to draw you in, look no further. I really recommend it.” (NetGalley)
  • “Paulette Stout deserves all the stars for bringing to the page a story that I haven’t seen explore in fiction this way before.” (NetGalley)
  • “The chemistry between Kyle and Rebecca had me on the edge of my seat. I definitely recommend this book.” (NetGalley)
  • “At a time when women need their voices heard, you sing a beautiful song with this book.” (Reader Review)
  • “Rebecca’s journey is a story I’ve never encountered before and I read A LOT of books.” (Reader Review)
  • “I thoroughly enjoyed it and read it in two days.” (Reader Review)

 

Reviews
After a devastating breakup, 28-year-old Manhattanite Rebecca Sloane is left sexually frustrated and questioning her own desires, or lack thereof, until a meet-cute with her elderly neighbor’s nephew, Kyle, sends her on a journey of self-discovery in this steamy, contemporary romance. Labeled a “frigid ice queen” by her ex, Rebecca participates in a research study in hopes of solving a “sexual problem” that has prevented her from ever experiencing an orgasm. However, after a series of embarrassing, “creepy” interviews, Rebecca leaves the study and decides to tackle her sexual dysfunction on her own, with a little assistance from Kyle, “a gorgeous young man in a black T-shirt.”

Stout is adept when it comes to exposing the vulnerability of her characters, and Rebecca’s feelings of inadequacy are evident from the opening lines, where she ruminates over an ex labeling her “frigid” and “an ice queen”: “It wasn’t as if the words were unexpected. Hell, Rebecca said them to herself a thousand times over. Only, this was different. Hearing someone else say them.” These feelings spur the plot while setting an impeccable start to a well-developed character arc. Stout excels at describing and dramatizing Rebecca’s issues, seizing a welcome opportunity to address common (but often avoided) issues surrounding female sexuality and intimacy.

Although much of the story’s plot revolves around sex, the steam between Rebecca and Kyle doesn’t truly rise up until later in the story, and most of the heat occurs during scenes of self-pleasure that range from moderate to scorching. Rebecca manages to ruin romantic moments with Kyle on several occasions, which may cause some readers frustration, while others will empathize with her apprehensions surrounding sex and the measures she takes to address her intimacy issues. High tension, flirty exchanges, and intense sexual situations that eventually lead to love make this book perfect for readers who enjoy angst-filled romance.

Takeaway: This steamy slow-burn weaves romance together with lessons on intimacy, women’s health, and the female body.

Great for fans of: Jasmine Guillory’s The Wedding Date, Alice Clayton’s Wallbanger.

Production grades
Cover: A+
Design and typography: A-
Illustrations: N/A
Editing: B
Marketing copy: A

Formats
Paperback Details
  • 09/2021
  • 978-1-7366371-1-1
  • 354 pages
  • $14.99
Ebook Details
  • 09/2021
  • 978-1-7366371-0-4
  • 354 pages
  • $6.99

Loading...