Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 10/2018
  • B07HR2D1NG
  • 293 pages
  • $3.99
Paperback Details
  • 10/2018
  • 1613096410
  • 356 pages
  • $17.95
New Persia: Before the Storm

Adult; Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror; (Market)

In the far future, on a distant world, civilization is rebuilding itself after centuries of barbarism. The wasteland, where no Earth life can survive, spawns great firestorms which devastate everything in their path. Hurricanes of fire rain destruction across thousands of miles. Civilization rises and falls by the whim of the storms. Civilization is now divided between two competing powers. The Azanians, stung by defeat in the last war, are ready for a rematch. They plan to attack when the next firestorm hits New Persia and have amassed a formidable arsenal of tanks and jet fighters. To oppose them, New Persia has Captain Basir Turani, a young tank commander, and Farad Hashemi, an ace fighter pilot. With tanks and planes reminiscent of the 1950s on Earth, they will fight the invasion of their homeland. Two women, Suri Pahlavi, and Nasrin Avesta will rise to the occasion beyond the role society expects of them. On a planet rising from the ashes of fallen empires, it is time for things to change. BEFORE THE STORM is the first book in the New Persia series of military science fiction novels.
Reviews
This entertaining and often gripping military SF series launch takes place in the far future on a planet colonized by descendants of Persian and Arab peoples and “other castoffs from Earth.” Tank captain Basir Turani and his fighter pilot friend, Farad Hashemi, embark on military missions while romancing military daughters Suri Pahlavi and Nasrin Avesta. It’s quickly revealed that both women chafe against laws restricting women’s freedom, and seeking husbands of their own choosing is their best chance at establishing a degree of agency. The story gets into high gear when the Persian military is deployed against the enemy Azanians just prior to a natural firestorm. Traitors trigger setbacks that Basir and Farad struggle to overcome, and war moves Nasrin and Suri to seek their own destinies, setting up further conflicts down the road.

This saga values worldbuilding and character development as much as it does highly detailed military operations. Lynch (Endemic) spends a lot of time pondering what it might be like if Middle Eastern and African societies were the ones who colonized alien planets in the future and how those societies might develop in harsh planetary climates. The work strongly critiques oppressive gender roles through the well-developed characters of Suri and Nasrin. The first half of the book is devoted to setting details and character background, and the pace drags as a result. There’s simply not enough story structure to support this much information dumping, especially as Lynch juggles multiple protagonists.

However, once the military operation begins, Lynch skillfully flips among the characters’ narratives as he reimagines WWII-era technology and tactics on this new world, generating tension and excitement from fine strategic detail. Smooth, evocative prose and entertaining characters keep the reader hooked as the plot careens to an exciting conclusion.

Takeaway: Readers who value detailed battle sequences, military strategy, politics, and cultural critiques will find this well-constructed military SF novel hits the spot.

Great for fans of Richard Baker’s Valiant Dust, W.C. Bauer’s Unbreakable.

Production grades
Cover: B
Design and typography: B
Illustrations: -
Editing: B-
Marketing copy: B-

Kirkus Reviews

“Talky opening chapters set the stage at a New Persian royal ball… after that, however, the formal narrative transitions from Tolstoy to Tom Clancy… the promising beginning of a larger “New Persia” saga… a sci-fi setting that also delivers shock-and-awe combat action.” Kirkus Reviews

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 10/2018
  • B07HR2D1NG
  • 293 pages
  • $3.99
Paperback Details
  • 10/2018
  • 1613096410
  • 356 pages
  • $17.95

Loading...