Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Gwyneth Lesley
Author
Prometheus' Priestess

A heartbreaking new novel, with Greek mythology and romance, perfect for fans of Madeline Miller's A Song of Achilles, Scarlett St. Clair's A Touch of Darkness or Stephen Fry's Mythos.

Every stupid thing anyone has ever done has been done for power, or love ... or love of power. The Gods are no exception.

Athena has been told by the Fates that humanity is on the brink of extinction. Unbelieving in magic or gods, the insidious fear within the humans will drive them to their demise.

Only a priestess sent by the Gods can save them.

Prometheus, creator of the humans and bearer of foresight, is adamant that sending the priestess to Earth will cause more harm than good. He has no intention of aiding the goddesses' plan; Fates be damned. He also has no intention of falling in love.

When he steals white fire, a symbol of the Gods' knowledge, and gives it to the priestess ... the Fates align. Humanity will never be the same again. A new era will begin.

But at what cost to those involved?

Gwyneth Lesley's "Prometheus' Priestess" is the first standalone novel in the Femme Fatale series "that will sweep you off your feet before crashing back down to Earth as it delves into the human condition with staggering accuracy."

"Prometheus' Priestess" is a modern-day Greek mythology retelling containing themes of sexual assault.

Quarter Finalist

Plot/Idea: 7 out of 10
Originality: 10 out of 10
Prose: 8 out of 10
Character/Execution: 9 out of 10
Overall: 8.50 out of 10

Assessment:

Plot/Idea: Lesley's plot is clever and inviting, and readers will be entertained by the amusing exchanges between the immortals on Mount Olympus. The pacing is slowed at times due to the formality of the language, but the format is true to a more classical style that aligns with the book's premise.

Prose: Displaying traditional prose in the style of Greek mythology is a wise move for Lesley, whose writing is nuanced and elaborate. The genre boxes in the style somewhat, although there is plenty of attention-grabbing conflict to go around.

Originality: Lesley delivers a memorable conclusion that builds on this book's intriguing concepts, and the writing both mimics and amplifies similar genre stories.

Character Development/Execution: Despite the challenge of expanding on well-known characters, Lesley is able to present them in refreshing ways that will make readers take notice. Their interiority and development is a surprising strength of the novel.

Date Submitted: August 18, 2022

Loading...