Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Paperback Book Details
  • 08/2019
  • 9781951141004 1951141008
  • 332 pages
  • $16.99
Open Ebook Ebook Details
  • 08/2019
  • 9781951141011 B07VVDCVTK
  • 330 pages
  • $5.99
Publish or Perish

IN THE CUTTHROAT WORLD OF BIOMEDICAL RESEARCH…

When computer whiz Emma O’Manny’s scientist husband dumps her on Valentine’s Day, vandalizing his office seems like a justifiable—if petty—response. But then Dan’s small plane crashes under mysterious circumstances, and Emma’s suddenly the prime suspect in a double homicide. Worse, Dan may have faked important vaccine safety research, to further his career—and the digital trail leads to Emma. Can she determine which data is correct, to prove her innocence? Or will Dan keep controlling her life, even from the grave?

…THE FIRST TO PUBLISH WINS…

Detective Vin Bronislovas came to Portland to rebuild his reputation, after nearly blowing a years-long investigation by believing the lies of a mobster’s daughter. A single misstep—like falling for another suspect—would destroy his career and ruin his life. But when the killer strikes again, and Emma and her children are threatened, Vin must choose between the Job and love. Can he trust his gut? Or will repeating his past mistakes allow a murderer to go free, and potentially put millions of children at risk from an unsafe vaccine?

…AND ANYONE CAN MAKE A KILLING. ANYONE.

Quarter Finalist

Plot/Idea: 8 out of 10
Originality: 8 out of 10
Prose: 8 out of 10
Character/Execution: 8 out of 10
Overall: 8.00 out of 10

Assessment:

Plot: Blaisdell’s multidimensional, complex storyline keeps the momentum on high, with several narrative threads that coalesce seamlessly and add a great deal of depth and substance to the work. The author maintains uncertainty throughout the novel and readers are unlikely to predict the outcomes of the many entangled mysteries.

Prose/Style: The sharp, clear prose flows efficiently, without excess adjectives, staying on point and giving the reader the ability to remain absorbed in the story. The transitions between multiple points of view are smooth and unnoticeable.

Originality: Although the idea of murder to cover up mistakes or falsified information is not new, the focus on biomedical research is highly original, while the crime's execution and the circumstances of the following cover-up are fresh and unexpected. Blaisdell also intriguingly blends elements of mystery and romance into the work, allowing the novel to engage readers on multiple levels.

Character Development: Character development in this novel is perfectly confusing, leaving the reader often unsure if they like or dislike a character, and whether or not they are inherently unreliable. By placing readers on such uneven footing, Blaisdell builds a palpable sense of unease that is marvelously well suited to the mysteries at-hand.

Date Submitted: August 20, 2019

Reviews
N.N. Light's Book Heaven

Publish or Perish is a gripping suspense which I couldn’t put down. I read it in one sitting. Yes, one sitting. The characters, the dialogue, the subject matter, the suspense combined together to wrap me in a cocoon of reader heaven. Emma and Vin are fantastic, fully fleshed out characters with immense depth. Through descriptive narration, Kerry Blaisdell allows the reader to ride along as Emma and Vin try to navigate through the investigation. Some of my favorite lines came from Vin. The attraction is pretty quick but is slow-burning due to trust issues.

This is Kerry Blaisdell’s first foray into romantic suspense and I have to admit, I’m impressed. The plot was peppered with twists and a few red herrings. I’m a huge suspense reader and even I didn’t guess the identity of the murderer until the very end. The subject matter on whether childhood vaccines leads to autism is timely and brings a spotlight on the issue. Having diverse characters rounded out the story nicely.

Fans of Harlan Coben and J. D. Robb will be as captivated as I was. Highly recommend!

Formats
Paperback Book Details
  • 08/2019
  • 9781951141004 1951141008
  • 332 pages
  • $16.99
Open Ebook Ebook Details
  • 08/2019
  • 9781951141011 B07VVDCVTK
  • 330 pages
  • $5.99

Loading...