Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Relatively Normal

I laughed, I cried, and I laughed some more--this is one you don't want to miss!" -Loretta Nyhan, Amazon #1 bestselling author of Digging In

Catriona Masterton's fiancé, Ethan, is Normal.

He plans trips six months in advance and arrives at the airport a minimum of three hours early. He purchases life insurance, luggage insurance, and always opts for the extended warranty. He's responsible, reliable, and would make any woman a wonderful life partner.

In other words, he's the exact opposite of the Masterton clan.

Cat's mother has a kitchen gadget fetish, a father whose best friends are taxidermied field mice, and a super stoner man-child brother who lives--where else?--in the basement. Then there's Nan, her proud Scottish grandmother with a proclivity for profanity and mischief.

What on earth will Catriona's Normal fiancé think when he comes home with her for the holidays? What will he think when he discovers his soon-to-be in-laws invited Cat's ex to join them for Thanksgiving dinner?

Find out in a laugh-out-loud journey of self-discovery, familial pandemonium, and love. A must read for fans of a true romantic comedy!

Reviews
AJ Book Remarks

“Relatively normal is a piss yourself, hold on to your belly, catch your breath, and spill your pint tale. This story is hilarious, off the wall, daft, and you can picture each and every event as its being unfolded in your mind’s eye. This was my first read by Whitney Dineen but will not be my last thinking we should be bancharaids.”

Annabella Costa, Author of My Perfect Ex-Boyfriend

“I loved Relatively Normal so much!  It’s rare a book makes me laugh out loud but this one did.... repeatedly!  I will be adding it to the top of my list of favorites for 2018!”

Book Boyfriend Addict

"This was the first time I’ve read a book from Whitney Dineen and I really enjoyed it! There are plenty of laughs to be had as we experience all the quirks and craziness of Cat’s family but it was also unexpectedly thought-provoking. It was very much a story about soul searching and finding where you’re meant to be as well as a reflection on all the moments that make up this journey called life."

Chick Lit Central

"I always find a piece of myself within a Whitney Dineen novel. The characters, the eclectic and eccentric situations, they speak to me on a relative level. And speaking of relative. While reading through and becoming a part of Cat’s experiences in Relatively Normal, I couldn’t get over how much I could identify with her. I’ve been in those shoes before, having dealt with my own cautious, meticulous love interest and offbeat, peculiar family. Feeling as though I had to come up with a balance between the two polar opposites. It’s not easy.

Dineen has this special way of showcasing the emotion, while keeping her own unique comedic spin on things. Putting various characters in a room who are so completely different, giving them the leeway needed to do what they want to. From Grandma’s tell-it-like-it-is personality to Dad’s penchant for taxidermied mice and spitting pistachio shells (one of the best scenes, hands down), to the supposed normalcy of her fiancee’s family, it gives off a thrilling unpredictability to what might happen next at any given moment. And the undercurrent with all of it are lessons in tolerance. There were a lot of scenes in Normal that really showcase what it means to be a lot more accepting of others, even if they’re different or not your own idea of what’s “normal”, because, really. What is normal? It’s a refreshing take on better appreciating the people and past that has helped shape who we become in the present. Even if that means potentially dodging spittooned pistachio shells!"

Karin Gillespie, author of Love Literary Style

"Hilarious and full-of-heart, Dineen has outdone herself. Relatively Normal is fabulous read."

Kirkus Reviews

"Dineen's tale offers a humorous bucolic setting . .. a powder keg of family dysfunction." --Kirkus Reviews

Loretta Nyhan-Bestselling Author of Digging In

“Whitney Dineen knows how to take the best of the 90s Rom-Com and update it for the 21st Century—Relatively Normal had me entranced from the first page. I laughed, I cried, and I laughed some more--this is one you don't want to miss! Reese Witherspoon will be all over this!"

 

MS Birdlady Book Blog

“You'll laugh, cry, and scream (in a good way), at the utter hilarious pandemonium this lovable family can cause. Meeting the Mastersons this Holiday season will make you laugh, cry, and swoon with happiness at the wild, outrageous parties this lovable, kooky Scottish clan can deliver. Bring on the haggis! Whitney Dineen does it again! 5 Humongous Stars!!!”

Readers' Favorite

“Relatively Normal by Whitney Dineen is among the best chick lit novels that I have read so far. Not only did it give me a long hearty laugh on many occasions, but the story also comes together splendidly. The unpredictable turns of the plot are adeptly created to grip the attention of any reader. Paired with the humor, the book makes for a must-read for anyone with an appreciation of romantic comedies.” —5/5 Stars, Readers Favorite

The Genre Minx

There were many points in this book where the story could have gone off the rails because all the characters and situations were larger than life. Satisfyingly enough, nothing was too outlandish that it became a turnoff, the Author had a masterful touch and kept the story plausible and merry. I laughed, and laughed, and laughed throughout this story. I enjoyed every chapter because every character was well developed and quirky. I wanted to know about each and every one of them! They each added their own element of crazy to the mix and it was absolutely perfect.

Tracie Bannister, Author of Izzy As Is

"Whitney Dineen continues to delight and surprise with her latest collection of quirky characters in Relatively Normal. You'll laugh, groan, and get all the feels along with heroine Cat when she spends the holidays with her wacky family and finds herself in the center of a very complicated and compelling love triangle. This book is a must-read for fans of Marian Keyes and Kristan Higgins."

USA Today Bestselling Author, Diana Orgain

"Relativley Normal will make you laugh, cry, and cheer. Dineen expertly deals with family dynamics and real life issues in such a way you feel like your living the book. I haven't laughed so much in ages!"

USA Today Bestselling Author, Sherly Babin

“Whitney Dineen knocks it out the park with a laugh-out-loud romantic comedy full of family weirdness and personal revelations. I loved it!”

Loading...