Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Kindle Edition eBooks Details
  • 03/2018
  • 978-1-7321165-0-4 B07BFM1VYL
  • 265 pages
  • $0.99
Jane Fenton
Author
Repo Girl: A Fun Action Adventure Romance (Repo Girl Series Book 1)
Jane Fenton, author
Twenty-five-year-old rookie Repo Agent, Andrea Sloan, doesn’t like accepting help from anyone – especially not arrogant musicians who are too charming for their own good. Even though she swore off men years ago, Andi finds herself drawn to handsome rockstar, Cooper Barnett, as he continually pops up in her life when she least expects it. Their budding relationship becomes even more complicated when Cooper talks Andi into letting him ride-along on one of her repos, and they come across a very naked, very dead body. Being charged with murder and spending a night in jail is bad enough, but when the police don’t seem to be making any headway on finding the real killer, Andi begins to do her own investigation – much to the frustration of the homicide detective in charge. The closer she gets to discovering the killer, the more her own life is in danger. Time is running out. Andi must figure out who the killer is before she goes to prison for a crime she didn’t commit or, worse, becomes the next dead body. If you enjoy reading Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series, you'll love this fast-paced mystery with lots of laughs and a little romance.
Reviews
In Fenton’s funny debut, which launches the Repo Girl series set in contemporary Roanoke, Va., Andrea “Andi” Sloan copes with money woes, a complex love life, and murder. Feisty, junk food–loving Andi, who has recently taken up a job as a car repossession agent, meets charming, flirtatious Cooper Barnett, v-p of his father’s financial planning company by day and a rock star by night, at a local bar where he’s playing with his band. There is obvious attraction, but Cooper is shocked when Andi, who has sworn off love, rejects his advances even after further chance meetings. Curious to learn more about Andi’s job, Cooper convinces her to let him ride along on one of her gigs. The job goes awry when Andi slams the repoed car into a deer—and a dead, naked body from the back seat lands on her lap. When all evidence points to Andi as the prime suspect, she’s determined to prove her innocence and begins her own off-the-books search for the killer.

Andi’s fearlessness and independence make her very enjoyable to read about. She does some amateur sleuthing by disguising herself and attending the murder victim’s memorial service, and when the police repeatedly warn her to stay out of the investigation, she doesn’t even flinch. Fenton smoothly balances this mystery plot with a sweet, playful romance. Cooper is protective of Andi and persuades her to stay at his condo after her home is raided. Although they don’t have sex, the flirty moments the two share are fun and leave much to the reader’s imagination (“He’d like nothing more than to... toss her back on his bed to kiss away that sassy expression”).

Fenton’s eclectic ensemble of secondary characters adds humor and depth to the story. All the characters are well developed and integral to the plot, including the handsome and stern Detective Kendricks, who jails Andi for the murder but is also attracted to her; Liz, Andi’s fierce but friendly cellmate, whose background as a tattoo artist helps Andi make a break in the case; and Ben, Andi’s supportive and slightly stereotypical gay best friend, who helps designs her sleuthing disguise and facilitates her relationship with Cooper. This thoughtfully crafted, complex story strikes a perfect balance between mystery and romance.

Takeaway: Fans of PG-rated contemporary romance with a suspenseful subplot will enjoy this well-constructed mystery, which boasts memorable characters and a brave, sassy heroine.

Great for fans of Meg Cabot’s Size 12 Is Not Fat, J.D. Robb’s Eve Dallas series.

Production grades
Cover: A
Design and typography: A+
Illustrations: -
Editing: B+
Marketing copy: A

Formats
Kindle Edition eBooks Details
  • 03/2018
  • 978-1-7321165-0-4 B07BFM1VYL
  • 265 pages
  • $0.99

Loading...