Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 05/2019
  • B07NSHGYWT
  • 553 pages
  • $4.99
Paperback Details
  • 05/2019
  • 978-1098768812
  • 551 pages
  • $19.99
Rigged

Who has real power?

The people in the shadows…

…behind the presidents of the world.

Cloaked in secrecy and loyal to their leaders, the masters of manipulation play at an entirely different level. They pull the strings and sow the seeds of division. What is their plan?

An election approaches.

The new US president will change the direction of the country. The world watches as the contenders for the White House state their cases.

Will this point in history alter the course of mankind?

The hidden plot must be discovered. The upheaval of a divided nation could bring it down. Will our heroes put the pieces together in time? Or have too many dominoes already fallen to stop this devious trap?

You’ll love this “torn from the headlines” modern day thriller because it rings true.

Reviews
Rosone and Watson (the World War III series) launch a series set in an alternate 2020 America where free elections are at risk. An attack on the email account of President Jonathan Sachs, a Republican who is up for reelection, is followed by bombings of early voting locations. Postal workers bribed by the Chinese government deliberately fail to deliver completed absentee ballots from Republican areas. While Lt. Col. Seth Mitchell and a team of operatives are sent to Kosovo to hunt for the people who orchestrated the attacks, U.S. federal agencies work diligently to unravel a worldwide plot to elect Democrat Marshall Tate.

The authors include plenty of realistic details of Mitchell’s operations in Kosovo and Serbia as he captures an Islamic terrorist leader and interrogates him (using drugs to induce compliance). One can almost hear the IEDs exploding and the helicopter blades whirring. The story line focusing on election security is both believable and current. However, the narrative loses some of its sharp focus following the election. All nine Supreme Court justices are assassinated; unable to have the election results invalidated, Sachs declares martial law. A vast international conspiracy is gradually uncovered. Though technically possible, these events in combination create an air of improbability, and a cliff-hanger ending does nothing to anchor them in reality.

The narrative’s sympathies clearly lie with Sachs, but there are moral shades of gray throughout. Tate scolds an aide who only cares about how the attacks benefit their campaign, a left-wing judge puts aside his hatred of Sachs in the name of protecting democracy, and a letter carrier takes bribes so she can pay off her enormous student loan debt from a Christian university. A wide range of thriller readers will be intrigued by this scary what-if scenario and curious enough to look for its sequels.

Takeaway: This terrifying scenario of a global conspiracy to throw a U.S. election will appeal to a wide array of espionage thriller fans.

Great for fans of Robert Ludlum’s The Bourne Legacy, Tom Clancy’s Code of Honor.

Production grades
Cover: A
Design and typography: B
Illustrations: -
Editing: A
Marketing copy: A-

Ryan Steck, The Real Book Spy

Talk about a timely plot.

In Rigged, authors James Rosone and Miranda Watson introduce a world where America is in the midst of its most divisive presidential election in decades, and where the new commander-in-chief may change the direction of the country . . . forever

Enter a shadow government and group of dedicated operatives, hell-bent on exposing a deep conspiracy and uncovering the truth before it’s too late. 

Honestly, in some ways, this book reminds me a bit of Chris Hauty’s forthcoming debut thriller, Deep State, one of the most anticipated debits of 2020. Rigged is a riveting, relevant, relentless rollercoaster-ride of a thriller—and kicks off an action-packed series that’s already four books long and counting. Trust me, if you haven’t already, check this one out right away. 

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 05/2019
  • B07NSHGYWT
  • 553 pages
  • $4.99
Paperback Details
  • 05/2019
  • 978-1098768812
  • 551 pages
  • $19.99

Loading...