Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Paperback Details
  • 05/2020
  • 978-0-578-60550-0
  • 568 pages
  • $15.99
S O'Fuel
Author
River of Blood
O'Fuel, author
“A law doesn't exist until you fear it.” Sean Tower, reluctant beneficiary of a family tradition in law enforcement, spins headlong into the violent, corrupt world of a metropolitan police force. His anarchist idealism and the culture of the warrior cop prove destined for bloody collision.
Reviews
This brutal, philosophical crime novel spans generations in its examination of family myth, cycles of violence, and corruption and racism among police departments. O’Fuel (That Night Filled Mountain) traces the life of Sean Tower, a restless young man from a family of cops, from a childhood fascinated by violent comic books to years spent hoboing across America to eventual deployment as a police officer in an unnamed American city. Sean slowly develops a moral philosophy that places him at bloody odds with a police department infested with racketeers and white supremacists.

O’Fuel’s ambitious novel is an impressionistic swirl of past and present, especially in its first half, as passages of vivid family lore alternate with present-tense accounts of Sean’s childhood. The prose surges with anger, despair, and invention, but it’s not easily approachable. O’Fuel vaults among timelines and perspectives. Dialogue is scant, and at times the prose loses clarity as it strains for poetic effect: “Spooky details cloned in the repetitive scenes of spontaneous destruction will produce macabre moments of déjà vu.” O’Fuel’s scenes often fall into present-tense summary and focus on characters’ internal experiences, skimming through action that might have had greater impact if dramatized.

For readers willing to disorient themselves in O’Fuel’s sweeping and outraged narrative, the novel offers accounts of war, policework both bizarre and mundane, life on the road, suicides and cop murders, and, eventually, the pulpy violence readers might expect from a crime thriller. Even then, O’Fuel bucks simple convention by penning the climax as a lengthy, ruminative colloquy, the text stripped of quotation marks, the scene feverish and unsettling. This ambitious exploration of systemic violence and moral philosophy has a lot to offer for fans of dense, cerebral crime fiction.

Takeaway: This thoughtful, vicious cop novel will jolt readers who crave moral inquiry in their crime fiction.

Great for fans of Mark Danielewski’s House of Leaves, James Ellroy.

Production grades
Cover: B
Design and typography: A-
Illustrations: -
Editing: B+
Marketing copy: B+

Formats
Paperback Details
  • 05/2020
  • 978-0-578-60550-0
  • 568 pages
  • $15.99

Loading...