Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Kyri Freeman
Author
Stealing the Sun
Kyri Freeman, author
Disinherited from the throne he believes should belong to his clan, rejected by the woman he loves, estranged from his father and uncertain of his place in a war-torn world, Altir Ilanarion searches for his path. Meanwhile, his kinsmen scheme and plot to overthrow their rival and regain the throne -- but all the while, the Liar's servants lie in wait. Stealing the Sun is the first book of a trilogy. It is literary, character-driven fantasy that takes traditional themes, drags them into dark places, and changes them into unspeakable monstrosities. It may appeal to readers of Richard K. Morgan and Joe Abercrombie.

Quarter Finalist

Plot/Idea: 9 out of 10
Originality: 9 out of 10
Prose: 9 out of 10
Character/Execution: 9 out of 10
Overall: 9.00 out of 10

Assessment:

In Stealing the Sun, Freeman opens a planned high fantasy trilogy with mettle and vigor. Set in a hardscrabble country where the human populace is besieged an encroaching race of agricultural wights and impending war with an ominous, supernatural Invader, the novel weaves a satisfying plot of political intrigue as warring families squabble over the future of their nation. Punctuated with bursts of violence and epic battles, Freeman's tale explores complicated themes of xenophobia and loyalty, while planting the seed of a sprawling saga that will leave readers eager for the next installment.

Date Submitted: July 13, 2016

News
07/13/2016
All three Sun Saga books are now available on Amazon

The Dark of the Sun and A Red Morn Rises are both available in print and for Kindle.

Loading...