Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 04/2021
  • 978-1-7361521-2-6 B093TP19KF
  • 235 pages
  • $3.99
Paperback Details
  • 04/2021
  • 978-1-7361521-3-3 B093TP19KF
  • 235 pages
  • $9.99
Hardcover Details
  • 10/2022
  • 978-1957463056 1957463058
  • 232 pages
  • $17.99
Scott Charles
Author
The Bone Taker

Middle Grade; Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror; (Publish)

Indiana Jones meets Goosebumps in this chilling Creeptown adventure!

Arlo Vreeland is not a movie star. Are you kidding? But his director-friend, Darius, desperately needs a lead actor, and Arlo has been dying to get Kayla’s attention…

When a power outage traps his sixth-grade class in an empty museum, Arlo thinks it’s the perfect excuse to slip away and start filming. He’s wrong.

Hidden in the museum’s dark depths, the Sorcerer’s Tomb has re-opened. Exhibits are springing to life. Stalking their classmates. Maybe even kidnapping Kayla!

With time running out, Arlo has no choice but to play his starring role in real life, in a deadly game of cat-and-mouse across a museum that never should've been opened.

Don't miss the fast-paced horror series kids are screaming about! Creeptown books combine fast plots, lovable characters and shocking late twists. Perfect for fans of R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps. Can you predict how the story will end?

Reviews
Arlo Vreeland, who has tan skin and red hair, is a medical enigma: ever since he was a child, his skeleton has slowly been disappearing. He’s now “missing up to forty percent of [his] bones” and is “losing more all the time,” giving him elastic abilities. But his own missing bones soon take a backseat to the presumed-stolen skeleton of Creeposaurus Rex, a “newly discovered” fanged theropod. When Arlo’s sixth-grade class visits its small town of Triosset’s “so-called ‘Museum of Natural History,’ ” run by Arlo’s eccentric uncle Leo, Arlo and his best friend, cued-Black amateur filmmaker Darius Moreland, learn there might be more than meets the eye to the museum’s collection of fossils, the newfound dinosaur, and two of their cued-white classmates—Craig Stetler, Arlo’s bully, who has alopecia, and silver-haired Kayla Caine, Arlo’s childhood best friend turned crush. When the foursome unexpectedly stumbles across an ominous Sorcerer’s Tomb in the museum, Arlo realizes that what sets him apart might just be a welcome, powerful skill. Charles’s vibrant, memorable voice shines through in this Creeptown sequel; the plentiful eerie twists and comedic turns will engross young horror readers. Ages 8–12. (Self-published)
BookSirens Review

"A cross between Goosebumps and Mr. Lemoncello with a little bit of Captain Underpants thrown in … it was totally ridiculous, but so much fun."

Publishers Weekly

Arlo Vreeland, who has tan skin and red hair, is a medical enigma: ever since he was a child, his skeleton has slowly been disappearing. He’s now “missing up to forty percent of [his] bones” and is “losing more all the time,” giving him elastic abilities. But his own missing bones soon take a backseat to the presumed-stolen skeleton of Creeposaurus Rex, a “newly discovered” fanged theropod. When Arlo’s sixth-grade class visits its small town of Triosset’s “so-called ‘Museum of Natural History,’ ” run by Arlo’s eccentric uncle Leo, Arlo and his best friend, cued-Black amateur filmmaker Darius Moreland, learn there might be more than meets the eye to the museum’s collection of fossils, the newfound dinosaur, and two of their cued-white classmates—Craig Stetler, Arlo’s bully, who has alopecia, and silver-haired Kayla Caine, Arlo’s childhood best friend turned crush. When the foursome unexpectedly stumbles across an ominous Sorcerer’s Tomb in the museum, Arlo realizes that what sets him apart might just be a welcome, powerful skill. Charles’s vibrant, memorable voice shines through in this Creeptown sequel; the plentiful eerie twists and comedic turns will engross young horror readers. Ages 8–12. (Self-published)

Say What? Blog

"Very entertaining … a nice mixture of adventure, humor, silliness, and drama."

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 04/2021
  • 978-1-7361521-2-6 B093TP19KF
  • 235 pages
  • $3.99
Paperback Details
  • 04/2021
  • 978-1-7361521-3-3 B093TP19KF
  • 235 pages
  • $9.99
Hardcover Details
  • 10/2022
  • 978-1957463056 1957463058
  • 232 pages
  • $17.99

Loading...