Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.


The Change Journey: A self-awareness guide for women who are thinking "how on earth did i end up here?"
Nikki Lane, author
The Change Journey guides women through ten stages of self-awareness supporting them to ignite change in their lives to gain a more empowered relationship with themselves and live a happier life.
Plot/Idea: 5 out of 10
Originality: 7 out of 10
Prose: 6 out of 10
Character/Execution: 6 out of 10
Overall: 6.00 out of 10


Idea: Lane proposes an interesting theme, although much of the guide’s purpose is fairly conventional. Readers will find that the concepts mature as the material progresses, with a more sound paradigm emerging towards the end.

Prose/Style: Lane’s informal prose supports the work’s vision. She writes conversationally to her readers, with some awkward text that fortunately does not detract significantly overall.

Originality: The Change Journey promotes well-known self-help ideology in a distinctive way. Lane’s consistent use of metaphors increases this work’s creativity levels considerably.

Character Development/Execution: Lane accomplishes her stated goals but goes beyond these in much of the writing. Readers may find it difficult to focus at times, given the abundance of information, but the bulk of the guide follows Lane’s overarching premise.

Date Submitted: October 21, 2021