Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
E-Book Details
  • 02/2017
  • 9781512773941
  • 150 pages
  • $$3.99
Soft Cover Details
  • 02/2017
  • 9781512773934
  • 150 pages
  • $$13.95
Mark Kubala
Author
The Execution of Jesus the Christ
For seventy years, we have been taught that Jesus died on the cross from asphyxiation (strangulation) because in the hanging position he was unable to exhale. This theory is not based on sound science. This book explains the medical cause of Jesus?s death and why even Pilate was surprised how soon Jesus had died. The dramatic changes that took place in Jesus?s body from the Last Supper until death are described in layman?s terms. To add to the injustice, Jesus?s condemnation to death was illegal under the Jewish law of his time?a fact supported by a review of the political and religious dynamics. Profits from the sale of this book are being donated to organizations that support the Christian presence in the Holy Land.
Reviews
Catholic neurosurgeon Kubala combines his work and faith in his debut book, a historical-medical investigation into the possible causes of Jesus Christ’s death that is both factually dense and accessible to the average reader. It takes most of the book to arrive at Kubala’s own theory, but readers familiar with Jewish and Christian stories will be impressed by the lead-up, which includes a deep dive into the history of Judea, its politics, and its religious leaders as well as a play-by-play of the week and hours leading up to Jesus’s death that is more detailed than an Easter service.

The book’s specificity defines its most likely readers. As Kubala points out, his fellow medical professionals will likely “find the language to be somewhat elementary.” However, laypeople may think it reads too much like a textbook. Some knowledge of the Bible is assumed, and non-Christian and Christian alike will occasionally feel preached at. But for intellectually curious Christians and history buffs interested in the era, Kubala’s work is a treasure trove of research. Even the seasoned churchgoer will learn something new—Kubala sometimes strays quite far afield, as when he explains the etymology of the names Golgotha and Calvary—and all readers will appreciate the clear, objective prose.

Anyone looking for a gripping narrative, emotional argument, or devotional text should look elsewhere. Kubala’s restrained writing style and well-reasoned arguments resemble those of medical journal articles. What he does successfully provide are the tools to allow anyone to consider the details of Jesus’s execution—local history, medical understanding, cause-of-death theories—and an invitation to remember Jesus’s sufferings and rejoice in the triumph of his resurrection. The descriptions are gruesome, the illustrations are basic, and the message is explicitly Christian, but those in the target audience will find it genuinely moving.

Takeaway: This scientific yet tender exploration of Jesus’s final week and execution will find a home in Christian bookstores, Bible study groups, and discussions of apologetics.

Great for fans of Lee Strobel, N.T. Wright.

Production grades
Cover: B
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: C
Editing: B-
Marketing copy: B

Formats
E-Book Details
  • 02/2017
  • 9781512773941
  • 150 pages
  • $$3.99
Soft Cover Details
  • 02/2017
  • 9781512773934
  • 150 pages
  • $$13.95

Loading...