Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Hardcover Details
  • 07/2020
  • 978-1-7325162-0-5
  • 368 pages
  • $21.99
Paperback Details
  • 07/2020
  • 978-1-7325162-1-2
  • 368 pages
  • $14.99
Ebook Details
  • 07/2020
  • 978-1-7325162-2-9
  • 368 pages
  • $3.99
The Genesis of Seven

Children/Young Adult; Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror; (Market)

Eighteen-year-old Jordan Conway has always wanted to help people, but helping seven archangels to achieve their divine duty was never quite what he had in mind… When Jordan is entrusted by the head nun of his orphanage to deliver a mysterious backpack to a New York City address, he comes unexpectedly face-to-face with Archangel Gabriel. Their acquaintance fast uncovers a labyrinth of secrets that connect Jordan’s once-normal life to an ancient heavenly prophecy. Now, he must help Gabriel to reunite the archangels before evil forces grow too strong. Soon, Jordan and Gabriel find themselves on a divine quest across the globe, while deep in the pits of Hell, Satan plots his return to earth. To gain control, however, Satan needs the powerful prophetic objects locked safe inside Jordan’s backpack—and the devil will stop at nothing to get what he wants. With that notion threatening his only family and the safety of his newfound friends, Jordan must do whatever it takes to protect the ones he loves and help the archangels succeed. If that means sacrificing all he thought he knew to go to war with the devil himself? Bring it on.
Reviews
This ambitious YA fantasy novel, which launches the Empyrean Trilogy, pulls a teenage orphan into a battle between archangels and Satan. Jordan has grown up at New York City’s Holy Trinity Home for Disadvantaged Youth, cared for by nuns. One day, he comes home to find the orphanage dark and empty. Sister Helen gives Jordan a locked backpack, an address, and a cryptic message that he’s their only hope. Tailed by a group of thugs, Jordan finally makes it to the address and meets a strange man who turns out to be the archangel Gabriel. He and six other archangels are the last stronghold against Satan, who is plotting a cataclysmic return to Earth. Jordan, whose backpack holds items that Satan desperately wants, must be protected at all costs, as he is the key to an ancient heavenly prophecy. Together, Jordan and Gabriel work together to round up the rest of the archangels and defeat Satan in a battle for the fate of humankind.

Introducing what promises to be a complex series, Schaller does necessary worldbuilding in her reimagining of the creation of heaven and hell and all of the novel's many characters. Her ideas are fresh and intriguing–the archangels taking on earthly jobs that correspond with their original roles in Heaven is charming–but the story gets bogged down by a sheer wealth of details as the angels explain these intricacies to Jordan. Even Satan’s ruthless quest for power feels overly complex. Jordan quips at one point that he’s “overwhelmed by all this information,” and readers may share the same sentiment.

Jordan’s engaging character is primarily defined by his humorous incredulity as he navigates this confusing new life. The tale would benefit from more in-depth characterization, but the intriguing premise is enough to carry readers into future installments where the major players may be developed further. Schaller’s imaginative take on Christian myth makes for a thrilling adventure with great potential for equally enjoyable sequels.

Takeaway: Teen fans of plucky heroes and battles between good and evil will relish this urban fantasy adventure.

Great for fans of Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman’s Good Omens, Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series.

Production grades
Cover: A
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: -
Editing: A
Marketing copy: A

Kirkus Reviews

"The first book in a new fantasy series that features an engaging battle of good versus evil."

Formats
Hardcover Details
  • 07/2020
  • 978-1-7325162-0-5
  • 368 pages
  • $21.99
Paperback Details
  • 07/2020
  • 978-1-7325162-1-2
  • 368 pages
  • $14.99
Ebook Details
  • 07/2020
  • 978-1-7325162-2-9
  • 368 pages
  • $3.99

Loading...