Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Kindle Edition eBooks Details
  • 04/2016
  • B01DSO4XZ2
  • 243 pages
  • $3.99
Paperback Details
  • 04/2016
  • 978-1530902064
  • 252 pages
  • $11.99
Julie Leo
Author
The Last Four Digits
Julie Leo, author

Adult; Mystery/Thriller; (Market)

Fans of Stephanie Plum and Izzy Spellman will love the adventures of private eye Lola Vega. Movie star Jack Stone appears to have committed suicide, but nobody believes it. Can Lola catch his killer before her rent is due? Join Lola on a romp through the Hollywood Hills, ex-wives, and psychics, dodging professional killers and one hot cop. Everybody wants Lola!
Reviews
Former attorney Lola Vega, the narrator of Leo’s fresh, funny, romantic mystery, is an endearing and unconventional L.A. PI. Broke and living off burritos, she’s prone to awkward mishaps and has a weakness for margaritas and men (notably Michael Escobar, a gorgeous but aggravating LAPD homicide detective). When Lola looks into the alleged suicide of Hollywood A-lister Jack Stone and subsequently discovers the body of a second victim, she unwittingly becomes a suspect in what develops into a murder case. In an effort to clear her name, Lola teams with Molly O’Reilly, the late movie star’s former psychic, who supplies some enjoyably irreverent humor (and communications with the dead) but can feel at times like an accessory. The investigation takes Lola and Molly to a dog track in Mexico, a Russian circus, and small-town Pennsylvania—with occasional stops at Lola’s mother’s house in Glendale for a home-cooked meal. Readers may pick up on clues before Lola does, and the Russian characters can be cartoonish, but these are minor blemishes. (BookLife)
Reviewed By Jack Magnus for Readers' Favorite

5 stars!
Julie Leo's private investigator mystery, The Last Four Digits, is a quirky and clever take on the crime noir genre. Lola's a private eye because she loves sleuthing, and she's willing to take chances to catch her villains, but the image of her trying to drive while applying nail polish and coping with a bee sting lends a definite note of humor to the story that follows. This klutzy and gutsy noir heroine is a joy to follow as she disregards warnings from sinister men in trench coats and travels up and down Southern California's Pacific Coast Highway in search of her prey. Leo's tale is well-plotted and includes plenty of puzzles for the mystery fan to unravel, but she also drops in a few tributes to classic detectives of the past which will equally delight discerning readers. Lola Vega and her two unlikely partners, the dishy Detective Michael Escobar and the psychic Molly O'Reilly, are well-crafted, authentic and believable characters. I'm looking forward to reading about Vega's further investigations. The Last Four Digits is highly recommended.

News
05/11/2017
TL4D Finalist in San Diego Book Awards

The Last Four Digits by Julie Leo is a finalist in the San Diego Book Awards. The finalists will be officially posted on May 15th with winners to be announced at the 2017 SDBA ceremony in La Jolla, California on June 10th.

 

 

Formats
Kindle Edition eBooks Details
  • 04/2016
  • B01DSO4XZ2
  • 243 pages
  • $3.99
Paperback Details
  • 04/2016
  • 978-1530902064
  • 252 pages
  • $11.99

Loading...