Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Audio Details
  • 07/2017
  • B073H9YSSF
  • 374 pages
  • $24.95
Paperback Details
  • 02/2017
  • 978-1542913621
  • 374 pages
  • $15
Ken Fry
Author
The Lazarus Succession
Ken Fry, author

Adult; Mystery/Thriller; (Market)

A DYING CONDESA'S LAST HOPE 
A DISGRACED JUDGE'S CHANCE FOR REDEMPTION 
AND A SECRET THAT REMAINED HIDDEN FOR CENTURIES...
✚ UNTIL NOW ✚

An Amazon UK Bestselling Religious Mystery since July 2017.

The Lazarus Succession takes readers to the ancient scene of Christ's greatest miracle, to medieval Spain, and back to modern-day Europe. A modern-day thriller with a spellbinding ancient mystery.

Voted BEST INDIE BOOK 2017 (Read Free.ly)
2017 New Apple Book Awards Solo Medalist Winner - eBook Suspense Thriller
2017 New Apple Summer eBook Awards - Official Selection in Historical Fiction
2017 IAN Book of the Year Awards WINNER in Christian/Religious Fiction.

According to legend, Annas Zevi, an artist who witnessed the raising of Lazarus, was told by Christ to paint what he saw. Since then, a sacred line of artists had been chosen in an unbroken succession. Each one painting a depiction of the miracle. Each work vanishing until the next successor is appointed. They were rumoured to be sacred icons with miraculous powers.

International Art Recovery Experts, Broderick Ladro and Ulla Stuart, are hired by a disgraced High Court judge, Sir Maxwell Throgmorton, to locate a long lost medieval painting by Spanish artist Francisco Cortez. Like Zevi, his work is said to be divinely inspired.

Throgmorton's client, a wealthy Spanish Condesa, is terminally ill and the icon is her last hope. She will pay and do whatever it takes to find the missing work of Cortez. 

Unbeknown to the Condesa, Throgmorton seeks to make a vast personal fortune from the discovery of the paintings, and use it to reclaim his place in society. 

Brodie and Ulla learns of Throgmorton's deceit and attempts to thwart his plans. As they delve deeper into the mystery of the missing Cortez painting, they discover a secret that changes their lives forever.

Just as it changed the lives of everyone it touched across the centuries.

Reviews
Amazon Review

A story to die for

"In many ways, Fry's book is superior to those featuring Robert Langdon. It is faster, sexier and more grown-up, for a start. The plot is intricate, the pace masterful, and despite a busy schedule, I was compelled to make time for The Lazarus Succession.Comparisons with mega-sellers aside, this is a superb piece of work. Our two protagonists, Brodie Ladro and Ulla Stewart are ne'er-do-wells, using their talents and knowledge to steal a living. I prefer an anti-hero to a clean-cut saint, so this was no problem for me. And for those with more exacting standards, the mission undertaken by the partners-in-crime eventually becomes a charitable one. The villain of the piece, the delightfully Machiavellian Throgmorten, is a classic bad guy, and by the end of the book, I was desperate for him to come unstuck.The final twist is inspired, too; I won't spoil anyone's enjoyment, but the supernatural elements, and their effect on the characters, are pure genius. Even an old cynic like me was entranced.The addition of a little historical flavour, in the shape of frequent glances into a beautifully depicted medieval Spain, gives the novel context, and a timeless magic I found addictive.This is polished fiction of the highest calibre, and I'm more than happy to award 5 stars."

Amazon Review

"Fry masterfully spins a web of mystery and intrigue around a lost medieval relic that is being desperately sought by a wealthy Spanish noblewoman, the Condesa Maria Francisca, in hopes that its alleged healing powers can restore her cancer-ravaged body and thus save her life."

Amazon Review

"“The Lazarus Succession,” delivers the religious conspiracy and intricate mystery facets of Dan Brown with a careful weaving of Biblical events with conspiratorial agents, both modern and ancient, in a clue-filled supernatural mystery thriller."

Amazon Review

A taut and riveting story

"This is a story that spans centuries, but with little side trips into the past to watch the unfolding of the legend, Fry manages to bring it all to life before our eyes. It is a taut story, and riveting from beginning to end, earning it an enthusiastic five stars from this most satisfied reader."

Readers' Favorite

"Although similar in many ways to the books by Dan Brown, I enjoyed it more. It was both sophisticated yet down to earth, despite Brodie’s visions. At no point does the author over dramatize the story, but with his excellent grasp of the written word he leads us to accept the surreal as perfectly normal and possible. The writing is excellent, the book is a treasure in itself and I would love to award this six stars."

News
12/11/2017
#1 The 50 Best Indie Book of the Year

The Lazarus Succession was voted #1 of 50 Best Indie Books of the Year on Read Free.Ly. 

10/15/2017
Another Award for Bestselling UK author, Ken Fry

The Lazarus Succession won the 2017 IAN Books of The Year Award in Christian/Religious Fiction.

08/04/2018
Lazarus has risen... again!

Ken Fry has released the sequel of his bestselling and multi-award winning novel, The Lazarus Succession. The Lazarus Continuum continues 17 years after Brodie Ladro entered the monastery. For readers of Fry, this is a much awaited release and it showed on Amazon UK's charts. Continuum launched as a #1 New Release in Christian Suspense and Religious Fantasy.

02/15/2018
The Lazarus Succession Wins it's 4th Award

The Lazarus Succession wins its 4th award. Solo Medalist Winner - eBook Suspense Thriller, 2017 New Apple Annual Book Awards.

Formats
Audio Details
  • 07/2017
  • B073H9YSSF
  • 374 pages
  • $24.95
Paperback Details
  • 02/2017
  • 978-1542913621
  • 374 pages
  • $15

Loading...