Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 02/2013
  • 978-0988459502 B00BMTUHR4
  • 225 pages
  • $.99
Paperback Details
  • 02/2013
  • 978-0988459502 B00BMTUHR4
  • 225 pages
  • $9.99
The Necessity of Finance: An Overview of the Science of Management of Wealth for an Individual, a Group, or an Organization

Adult; Business & Personal Finance; (Market)

The Necessity of Finance: An Overview of the Science of Management of Wealth for an Individual, a Group, or an Organization provides a comprehensive, concise orientation for those seeking an understandable presentation of the complex nature of finance. Using everyday terms and readily grasped concepts, Dr. Anthony M. Criniti IV, a former financial consultant and current university-level finance professor, sets out to detail the necessity of finance; to clarify the definition, purpose, and goals of both finance and economics; to explore financial concepts in a straightforward manner; and to stimulate interest and understanding that will lead to ongoing investigation.

Finance, although highly interrelated with many subjects, is a separate field of study often confused with other areas, most notably economics. With world wealth accumulating to its highest point in history, the necessity to understand this subject on its own terms is crucial. The Necessity of Finance highlights the need to engage with finance as a separate science, clears up the confusion with related subjects, and coins the word "financialists" to identify the scientists in this dynamic field.

Equipping the beginner to intermediate level financial student with vital information and a clear approach for continued study, its unique perspective will also be of value to the advanced student and the practitioner. Topics include: What is the difference between money and wealth? What is risk and return? What kinds of investments exist? What are the different techniques for selecting investments? What role does ethics play in finance?

While The Necessity of Finance does not replace required textbooks, it is an indispensible supplemental learning tool that may clarify expectations of future financial journeys, whether in a university or in the marketplace. In this extremely useful overview, Dr. Criniti demonstrates that finance is a very promising science that will benefit those who commit themselves to its study and practice.

Reviews
The subtitle of Criniti’s financial primer aptly forecasts the methodology of this precise and steady guide to financial science foundations. The emphasis is on establishing firm, clear definitions of all key terms, upon which it’s possible to build a sound understanding of a science that Criniti posits is “improperly defined from one textbook to the next.” To his credit, Criniti acknowledges that reading this book “may not make you a millionaire.” Instead, it’s intentionally designed to clarify the basics of finance itself.

Criniti persuasively argues that finance has often been ambiguously defined and taught by instructors lacking even a clear and consistent understanding of what their field is, especially in relation to its sister science, economics. The central distinction that Criniti draws is that economics is the science of wealth management for nations, while finance is the science of managing wealth for individuals, groups, or organizations. In lucid, inviting prose, he illuminates this difference, even coining the term financialist for a thinker who (like himself) has been trained in the science of finance.

Criniti’s approach is to guide readers by building up from first principles: introducing each idea, demonstrating its veracity, and drawing vital distinctions between one concept and others. For example, he will not let readers mistake speculation or gambling for investing. He refines his definitions as he goes, honoring readers’ trust and intelligence by showing his work. Lay readers and budding financialists will appreciate the clear and straightforward explanations of saving, risk and return, formulations of the time value of money, and other topics essential for financial literacy. Criniti’s painstaking approach stands as a welcome corrective to the flood of finance self-help books that promise readers shortcuts to wealth, making this an excellent guide for anyone looking to understand the core concepts of personal finance.

Takeaway: This guide illuminates the basics of personal finance for readers who prefer a solid grounding in crisp facts without any self-help hype.

Great for fans of James Gwartney, Richard L. Stroup, and Dwight R. Lee’s Common Sense Economics; Thomas Sowell’s Basic Economics.

Production grades
Cover: A
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: -
Editing: A-
Marketing copy: A

News
02/11/2020
Start Here! The Top 11 Finance Books Of All Time

Listed on Thrive Global article called Start Here! The Top 11 Finance Books Of All Time 

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 02/2013
  • 978-0988459502 B00BMTUHR4
  • 225 pages
  • $.99
Paperback Details
  • 02/2013
  • 978-0988459502 B00BMTUHR4
  • 225 pages
  • $9.99

Loading...