Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

P.D. Alleva
Author
The Rose Vol. 1 A Dystopian Science Fiction Thriller
P.D. Alleva, author
A masterful, dystopian science fiction thriller of underground genetic experiments, telepathic evil greys, mysterious rebellion, martial arts, and Alien Vampires. Sandy Cox believed WW3 was over. But for those Alien Vampires, war has just begun. Forty-eight hours after a World War III treaty is signed Sandy Cox awakens in an underground compound unable to move. Tied to machines, she screams for help but no one answers. At least no one human. And they’ve taken her unborn child. Phil is a rebel freedom fighter who has had more than his share of Alien Vampires. Armed with The Blades, a sacred alien martial arts weapon, he enters the compound on a mission to find Sandy. But as he battles through the compound, Phil discovers Sandy has her own agenda. Finding her stolen child is all that matters. But the Vampires have their own plan and Sandy’s baby is at the heart of their diabolical plot. Joined by a crew of rogue soldiers, they must navigate the underground compound, combating genetically mutated humans, aliens, and monsters. When battling Alien Vampires, one thing is certain…Get Ready To Bleed! Fans of The Hunger Games, George RR Martin, VE Schwab, Star Wars, and Ancient Aliens will be fascinated by this high-powered, edge-of-your-seat dystopian science fiction action thriller.
Reviews
This dystopian horror novel goes all in on its blockbuster premise: alien vampires called the Drac have infiltrated Earth, inciting global war and subjecting humans to genetic experiments. Human soldiers, thinking they’re following legitimate orders, capture pregnant women and children for Drac use. Sandy Cox, six months pregnant, flees a refugee camp but is caught and taken to a vast underground facility near Atlanta, where her baby is prematurely extracted and transformed into a bloodthirsty human-Drac hybrid. Now Sandy must rely on enigmatic freedom fighter Phil and other unlikely allies to escape the Drac city before it’s destroyed by a saboteur, even as a dispute between alien factions erupts into open fighting.

Staccato prose, a choppy narrative, and visceral descriptions grant this dystopian thriller both urgency and a sense of chaos, which contribute to the story’s air of intrigue and confusion. With multiple plot lines weaving throughout the increasingly frenetic tale, which is told from frequently shifting perspectives, it can be hard to keep track of the numerous characters and threats. Alleva rarely dwells on backstory or worldbuilding, leaving much to be explained late in the story, if at all.

Sandy’s maternal instincts serve her well in her efforts to protect her newborn child, and she has a fair amount of internal complexity, but many other characters are opaque or underexplored. For instance, Phil is distilled down to his unique weapons and impressive combat skills, with very little said about his background or purpose. This series opener clearly has ambitious plans to set up a conflict among the Drac with Earth caught in the middle, touching upon tantalizing ideas such as vast underground cities, a manufactured world war, and weapons on the moon, but the focus is always on the immediate action at hand. The mix of violence, horror, and melodrama has a certain gonzo appeal.

Takeaway: This action-packed struggle for survival on a devastated Earth invaded by alien vampires will pull in readers looking for no-holds-barred adventure and cinematic flair.

Great for fans of Jeff VanderMeer’s Annhilation, L. Ron Hubbard’s Battlefield Earth, John Ringo’s A Hymn Before Battle.

Production grades
Cover: B-
Design and typography: B+
Illustrations: -
Editing: B
Marketing copy: B

Loading...