Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Hardcover Details
  • 10/2019
  • 978-1-885331-73-1
  • 254 pages
  • $27
Ebook Details
  • 01/2020
  • 9781885331748
  • 254 pages
  • $6.99
Audio Details
  • 01/2020
  • 9781885331755
  • 254 pages
  • $13.00
Judith Briles
Author, Service Provider
When God Says NO - Revealing the YES When Adversity and Loss Are Present

Adult; Memoir; (Publish)

As a multi-award-winning author, Judith Briles’ personal journey has been littered with NOES. Two of her children have died; she survived a life-threatening illness—leaving her paralyzed several months; survived a divorce that the tabloids would have relished; overcame cancer; and lost everything she had built when a partner embezzled over a million dollars leaving her without any assets but family, friends … and herself. No one holds a monopoly on good times. No one. Invariably, everyone comes to a point where part of their life is miserable. Discover how Judith dealt with more challenges than most can ever imagine life’s journey dealing. Tough times may come, Judith shows you that you can survive and grow through very tough times. Get her new book: When God Says NO- Revealing the YES When Adversity and Loss are Present. Hardback, eBook, audiobook. #Death #Grief #Grieving #Inspiration #Christianity #Judaism #healing #loss
Reviews
Finding the good in a series of heartbreaks, Briles (How to Create a $1,000,000 Speech) shares moving stories of her personal darkest times over several decades and explains how she created something good from each situation. Starting with the story of losing her 19-year-old son, Frank, to an accidental drowning, Briles moves on to the death of another son, Billy, a week after his birth; many losses, including her job, her car, and custody of her children, in the process of leaving an abusive marriage; life-threatening illness; and several business setbacks due to others’ underhandedness. In circumstances that would have many people thinking of giving up, Briles shares how she instead turned each situation into better business prospects or better opportunities for her and her loved ones.

Briles, a professional speaker focusing on book publishing, conflict resolution, and personal finance, effortlessly models coping with disaster through introspection and putting one foot forward at a time, never wallowing in the negative. Readers facing challenges at work will especially appreciate the details of how Briles built her businesses and the failures she faced along the way. She doesn’t shy away from discussing times when she was lied to and betrayed, and explains what she learned from each experience.

Though the title suggests otherwise, Briles’s optimism and determination aren’t rooted in scripture. Nonreligious readers looking to find the positive in negative experiences will find just as many answers. The practices Briles uses can be applied by any reader. Though she sometimes frames life through a religious lens (such as asking, “Why didn’t God prevent [Frank’s] accident from happening?”), she focuses on the human ability to persevere. This is an admirable guide to finding the gifts hidden inside tragedies.

Takeaway: Readers looking for a way through dark times will be inspired by Briles’s memoir of dogged persistence in the face of immense challenges.

Great for fans of Tim Hague’s Perseverance, Neil Pasricha’s How to Get Back Up.

Production grades
Cover: A
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: -
Editing: A
Marketing copy: B+

Formats
Hardcover Details
  • 10/2019
  • 978-1-885331-73-1
  • 254 pages
  • $27
Ebook Details
  • 01/2020
  • 9781885331748
  • 254 pages
  • $6.99
Audio Details
  • 01/2020
  • 9781885331755
  • 254 pages
  • $13.00

Loading...