Find out the latest indie author news. For FREE.

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 01/2020
  • 0998645311 B082VWN471
  • 50 pages
  • $.99
Paperback Details
  • 01/2020
  • 978-0998645315
  • 50 pages
  • $5.99
JC Bratton
Author, Service Provider
Who's at the Door?
JC Bratton, author

Children/Young Adult; Mystery/Thriller; (Market)

Due to an unfortunate accident, 17-year old Jamie Patterson had to decline a Hawaiian cruise with her family and stay at home. To protect the home while they were away, Jamie's father installed a video-monitored doorbell. Little did Jamie know that the device that was supposed to guard her would ultimately become her biggest nightmare. At 3:33 PM, Jamie received a notification on her phone that the doorbell rang; however, there was no one at the door…With the aid of her estranged boyfriend, Jamie unravels a mystery more dangerous than she could possibly imagine in order to answer one simple question: "Who's at the door?"
Reviews
Bratton’s brisk debut novella takes readers on a suspenseful journey involving a haunted mirror. Recent high school graduate Jamie, at home alone, is spooked at 3:33 p.m. when her front door motion sensor goes off but no one is there. She recalls that just before she crashed her car a few weeks before, she saw the face of Mary Montgomery, a missing 13-year-old girl, in her rearview mirror at 3:33 a.m. Jamie and her ex-boyfriend, Mark, visit Mary’s classmate Beth and discover she owns a mirror that Jamie’s parents sold years ago. Then, at 3:33, a spectral hand reaches from the mirror and grabs Beth. After talking with Sheriff King, who turns out to be an expert in the occult and links the mirror to another long-ago disappearance, Jamie and Mark deduce that Mary was drawn into another dimension through the mirror—and there might still be time to rescue her.

Bratton capably intertwines the mirror-as-portal concept with the Bloody Mary urban legend, grounding it in Beth’s use of "Bloody Mary" to taunt Mary after she gets her first period. Jamie’s eerie family history, including connections to the time 3:33, adds suspense to the tension-filled novel. Mark and Jamie’s sleuthing efforts go improbably smoothly, from the sheriff’s ready acceptance of the supernatural to clues and specters appearing as they’re needed; older teen readers may balk at the ease with which answers turn up. However, this lack of obstacles lets the story fly by.

The conclusion of the investigation is somewhat diminished by Jamie fainting at a crucial moment and only learning afterward what transpired, but an eerie final page will leave the reader with chills. A swift pace and genuinely spooky atmosphere are the high points of this suburban ghost story.

Takeaway: This eerie novella and its smart adolescent sleuths will appeal to younger teen fans of spooky stories.

Great for fans of R.L. Stine’s The Betrayal, S.A. Hunter’s Scary Mary.

Production grades
Cover: A
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: -
Editing: A
Marketing copy: B

Self-Publishing Review

"JC Bratton delivers a spine-tingling supernatural thriller with desperate ghosts, old secrets, and unrequited love in Who's at the Door? A mysterious connection between the housebound protagonist and a young missing girl sets a haunting tone that will keep readers devouring pages from start to finish. This novella is packed with twists throughout and the rapid, heart-pounding chapters fly fast as this dark mystery grows ... For a spooky afternoon escape, Who's at the Door? is an ideal choice." ★★★★

Formats
Ebook Details
  • 01/2020
  • 0998645311 B082VWN471
  • 50 pages
  • $.99
Paperback Details
  • 01/2020
  • 978-0998645315
  • 50 pages
  • $5.99

Loading...